Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Topic Tools
Old June 25th, 2008, 04:46 PM

Flash and Flash Plugins have red x's through them in Control Panel

In my contol panel my flash and plug in have these red x's through them. I have to download flash in Internet Exployer and cannot get any picture's in my windows mail stationary. I do not know what is wrong and have uninstalled them and downloaded them about 6 times with the same results. Does any one know what this is all about and if it is why I cannot see my stationary in Windows Mail? Thankyou.
cecilia11 P.S. I am still fairly new to computers.
Old June 27th, 2008, 12:03 AM
CTH Subscriber

O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Hi Cecilia11. Try this. Close IE and open Computer. Navigate to C:\Windows\System32 and look for the Macromed folder. Open it and then open the Flash Folder. Find FlashUtil9b and rightclick on it and choose "Run as Administrator". When the UAC prompt appears, select Continue and follow the prompts. Reboot afterwards. Do you still see red x's next to the installation?

Regarding your Stationery. I take it you are downloading additional stationery from http://www.microsoft.com/windows/stationerydl.mspx? Please check all the instructions and make sure that you have followed them.

Quote:
How to download and install

Select an item from the drop-down list above and click Go.

A File Download dialog box opens.

On the File Download dialog box, click Run.

Click Yes when asked whether you would like to install a new stationery.

Read the license agreement. If you agree to the terms, click Yes to begin the download process.

Click OK to close the Microsoft Windows Mail Stationary dialog box.