Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Web Development & Graphic Design

Notices

Web Development & Graphic Design Problem Solving for Graphic Design, PHP, ASP, Perl, MySQL, SQL, XML, HTML issues

Topic Tools
Old February 14th, 2008, 12:31 AM

Website design in Photoshop.

What would the best way be, for going about this?

I mean, I want to use as few graphics as possible, and reuse as many as possible. Is there any way I can slice my graphic so it reuses already existing graphics?

EG; I have a pattern, but at the moment, it's 3 seperate graphics; but all of the graphics are more or less the same thing.

This is my first time editing a website in Photoshop, so any help would be appreciated.
Old March 4th, 2008, 08:50 PM

I'm not exactly sure of what you're attempting to accomplish. You already have this/these graphics sliced. If what you want to do is link them together as one graphic you could try this;
1. choose the slice selection tool (O - the knife tool).
2. click a slice, then shift-click one or more additional slices (or graphics).
3. right click/ctrl-click and choose LINK SLICE for optimization. Or...
Slices> Link slices for optimization. The linked slices will now be assigned a link iconwith a unique group color, which will appear next to the linked slices labels in the image and on the web content palette.
(Tip) To add a slice to a group of already linked slices, select the slice you want to add, plus one of the slices already in the group, then choose Slices>Link Slices for optimization.
NOTE: This is information I've used in the past. It is selected from one of the Visual Quickstart Guides - PhotoShop for Windows and Mac's by Elaine Weinmann & Peter Lourekas - Copyrighted 2004.
I use books like this and other as references whenever I get stuck and its works for me.
Try this and see if it solves your problem. Let me know?
Old March 4th, 2008, 10:04 PM

pick up a book on css theres a tutorial on good-tutorial on how to make a website