Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 1st, 2009, 05:31 AM
shirley_b1 shirley_b1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Vista 64 bit compatibility with Works Suite 2006

I have a new HP Touchsmart IQ 526 with Vista Home Premium 64 bit.
I have addressed most of my older software/hardware issues, but would like to see if anyone has an answer for the wordprocessor.
It came with Works 9, and I have Works suite 2006, which includes Word 2002. Is there any way to install Word 2002 from the Works 2006 suite?
Folks say that it is not compatible to the VISTA -64 BIT.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 1st, 2009, 11:54 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi shirley_b1. Did Works Suite 2006 come with another computer like Works 9? If so, it's OEM software and your question is academic. Microsoft OEM software is for a single install on a single machine. When you try to activate Word, your hardware will be compared with that of the machine you first installed it on and when different hardware is found, activation will be denied.

OEM software cannot be transfered to another machine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 02:35 AM
shirley_b1 shirley_b1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
I purchased Works Suite 2006 retail.
I think once I uninstall it, I can put it on another machine.
It's looking like I will have to put it on my laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 03:19 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Quote:
I purchased Works Suite 2006 retail.
I think once I uninstall it, I can put it on another machine.
Yes, that's right.

Quote:
It's looking like I will have to put it on my laptop.
Have you tried a custom installation of Word 2002? If so what happens? Post any error messages in full.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 06:23 PM
shirley_b1 shirley_b1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
I'm not sure if I should try to install Word 2002 from The Works SUite 2006 set, over the Works word processor that is on my new computer within Works 9.
Can I damage anything by doing that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 10:31 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
If you do a custom install your should be able to choose what directory Word is installed to. Create a new folder first and call it MS Word (or whatever) and install it there.

Just make sure you create a restore point first. Office 2002 products are compatible with Vista but I cant really see any other way to know if this will work for you if you dont try to install it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 02:27 AM
shirley_b1 shirley_b1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 30
I installed Word 2002 from Works Suite 2006, and it installed. Then I attempted to use a database to generate a set of labels and it failed miserably. I had 289 labels and the screen showed the top row and the bottom row of the page, and printed the same. I guess Vista 64 bit is not compatible with Word 2002 from Works Suite 2006.
I just need to confirm that a newer version of Office will fit my needs, or just install it on my XP laptop.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 02:37 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
That's a pity.

Office 2007 is compatible with a 64 bit OS but there are some limitations. See here.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 03:59 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,672
according to the following link, word 2002 and office xp in general has issues with vista 64.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/com...tent&os=32-bit

maybe you should check out openoffice from openoffice.org. It is compatible with most general office features (pre-2007) and its free. I printed labels with it using a label template I created with word 2003.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Digital Image Suite 2006 on Windows 11 bbonner Windows 11 8 February 27th, 2024 04:40 AM
Help with Task Launcher in Works Suite 2006 (Moved from Vista Forum) Tazgirl0914 Applications 0 October 19th, 2008 01:10 AM
MS Works Suite to Excel Converter TechDave Applications 2 March 26th, 2005 09:19 AM
unable to install MS works suite lynn4604 Applications 2 October 26th, 2004 12:50 PM
MS Works Suite 2003 and NAV 2002 chick Applications 2 May 28th, 2003 04:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:02 AM.