Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows 98

Notices

Windows 98 Problem solving for the Windows 98 Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 11th, 2002, 08:51 PM
Tricknician Tricknician is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 7
Swap File

If Virtual Memory can make it appear to the system that there is more RAM available than is actually installed,
would it be beneficial to set up the swap file to equal the size of the total amount of memory that your system can
handle. For example: If I have 512MB of RAM installed but my system can handle 768MB of RAM... should I
set the swap file size to equal 256MB's (768-512)?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 11th, 2002, 09:49 PM
Junky Junky is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 3,708
With 512 of memory, why would you need more? I run 256 of memory and RamBooster and never run out of upper memory. I have RamBooster running on the task bar. When memory gets below 5 megs I use RamBooster to flush out the old stuff left behind in upper memory. One flush puts it back to something like 180 megs of free RAM or more.

I used to set the Swap File to 1.5 times my actual memory. I had lots of free disk space. Worked just fine for me. You may want to try a few different sizes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 11th, 2002, 10:28 PM
Tricknician Tricknician is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 7
I was always under the understanding that anything above 512 wouldnt see a noticalbe difference... but I have a friend that knows a little more than me and is always looking for ways to "tweak" my system as he calls it. I needed a second opinion before I tried anything risky.
Thanks a million !
~Hal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 12th, 2002, 09:53 AM
Dodge's Avatar
Dodge Dodge is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Kentucky
Age: 46
Posts: 6,421
You really wouldn't notice a difference in it. The program Junky mentioned would give you more of a noticable difference.

From the test I have done, with anything above 128mb's of ram you really dont get that much of a boost from messing with the swap file size. Atleast not on my system.

I ran test with 64mb's ram and set took the swap file from 98 to 128 and noticed a slight boost, then I took it up to 192 and had a little more boost. Took it up to 220 and my performance dropped....

Then I reset the swap file to the original size. Got Ramboost installed and gave it a try. Major Performance Boost.

Even with 512mb's of ram, I think you would benefit most from a program to clean out the Memory like Ramboost or one of the many other programs around.......

BTW, I am now running 256mb's Ram and still notice a Major difference when I use Ramboost. Which isn't quite as often as when I had 64, but it is still needed at times....

[ 12 January 2002: Message edited by: Dodge ]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 18th, 2022, 03:55 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,036
Sometimes I boot to dos and delete my swap file just for the hell of it....


Sometimes it gets huge.... I only have 64Megs of ram and 8 are tied up for the monitor to techinally I only have 56. something of REAL RAM ...

I dont have the swap file set at any size,its automatic. Gets bigger and smaller as needed....

Is there a limit on how big it can get?? (The swap file)

Last edited by The Dude; January 18th, 2022 at 03:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 19th, 2022, 01:13 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 11
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 77
Posts: 17,356
Multiply your physical memory by 2.5.

In your case 64 x 2.5 =160

Choose either the number from the calculation in Step 1 or 256 MB, whichever is less.

Right-click My Computer, select Properties, select the System Performance tab, and click the Virtual Memory button.

Select the Let Me Specify My Own Virtual Memory Settings option.

Set both the Minimum and Maximum swap file size to the number you used in Step 2.

Click OK and then restart the computer when prompted.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 20th, 2022, 12:55 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,036
Thanx buddy.... I have always had it on LET WINDOWS MANAGE it....

I wonder if you checked DISABLE VIRTUAL MEMORY (It says not recommend) I gather things would be quite slow!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I get rid of my swap file? lcyber Windows NT, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2012 12 March 26th, 2007 11:11 AM
swap file frankgw Windows ME 2 May 13th, 2005 09:24 PM
Swap File Questions drumstik Windows XP 2 December 26th, 2004 03:51 PM
Swap File USMC_devildog Windows NT, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2012 7 January 21st, 2004 02:08 AM
Swap file optimization Gnaw Windows XP 1 December 2nd, 2001 04:34 AM




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:02 PM.