Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old September 6th, 2005, 09:22 AM
verbatim verbatim is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Do I need to purchase a new OS??

I have a Dell Dimension 4300 with Windows XP Home installed. The HDD has failed with an error message: EIDE controller operating outside normal specifications, which I assume means an HDD failure. The sixty million dollar question is: With a newly installed HDD would I be able to recover the OS with the original System Restore CD, or is all lost so that need buy a new copy of XP? Also, when I install a new HDD will I be able to recover data from the failed HDD using it as the slave?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 6th, 2005, 09:50 AM
Ned Seagoon's Avatar
Ned Seagoon Ned Seagoon is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Sunshine Coast, Australia
Age: 79
Posts: 3,505
Hi Verbatim

Your assumption about the HDD is most likely correct, a new HDD should solve this. You should install this drive and use your recovery disk to place the operating system on to it. Then you could try placing the old drive in as a slave to see if you can recover all your files (documents, pictures, e-mail etc).

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 6th, 2005, 09:58 AM
verbatim verbatim is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ned Seagoon
Hi Verbatim

Your assumption about the HDD is most likely correct, a new HDD should solve this. You should install this drive and use your recovery disk to place the operating system on to it. Then you could try placing the old drive in as a slave to see if you can recover all your files (documents, pictures, e-mail etc).

Good luck.
Many thanks......keeping everything crossed!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 6th, 2005, 01:14 PM
Rich M's Avatar
Rich M Rich M is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eastern, Pa
Posts: 6,685
here is one more trick that works half the time if you cannot see your old drive as a slave...
Take old drive and put it in a sealed plastic bag in the freezer for about 2 hours. Take it out, plug it in and boot up quickly and if you see it it will only be for about 1/2 hour so work quickly copying from old to new drive to save your files.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 1st, 2005, 12:09 PM
bookman bookman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
Thanks for the help. I wasn't able to get the old HDD working as the master but have installed a new one and the old one seems to be working fine as a slave.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bra purchase renegade600 Jokes Forum 4 November 1st, 2022 11:21 PM
ipod purchase shawsome01 Malware Removal 3 November 25th, 2007 02:59 PM
Will i have to purchase a new copy of XP?? aryius82 Windows XP 1 August 21st, 2006 01:05 PM
About to purchase Menga Hardware 4 April 21st, 2006 02:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20 PM.