Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 31st, 2008, 10:54 AM
Menicus Menicus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Can not use .vbs fix for Taskbar!Please help!

Hello.I'm new here, I'm Menicus 34yo from Athens, Greece.I'm having a problem running a taskbar fix-"minized programs do not show on taskbar"- which I downloaded from Kelly's Corner.The fix is a .vbs file, and when I try to open it-double clicking- it opens with the notepad, and the script is not executed.I downloaded Windows Script 5.7, but after installing SP3 release candidate-all well with it-, when trying to install the WS , it says I don't have to install the update bc I have a newer version.As a result, I can not run VB script files, and so can not install this Taskbar fix.
The name of the file is xp_taskbar_desktop_fixall.vbs

Any help would be appreciated.I'm desperate!

Thank you,

Greetings from Athens,Greece,

Menicus.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 31st, 2008, 01:42 PM
oracle128's Avatar
oracle128 oracle128 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 40
Posts: 9,401
Firstly, make sure the file actually has a .vbs extension. If your Folder Options are set to no show file extensions, the script's file name may actually be "is xp_taskbar_desktop_fixall.vbs.txt"; which will show as "is xp_taskbar_desktop_fixall.vbs" with file extensions hidden, but will actually be a .txt file and thus will open in Notepad.

Also, try right clicking the file. If 'Open' is not the default option (in bold), you need to make it so. If you've confirmed the file is actually .vbs, then there is a problem with your file associations. In either case, you can correct it in Control Panel->Folder Options->File Types, scroll down to VBS. If there is a Restore button, clicking it should fix either problem. If it's an Advanced button instead, click it. From here, you can either select 'Open' and click Set Default, or if 'Open' is not there, create a New action named "&Open" with the following application:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\WScript.exe "%1" %*
Tick Use DDE, set Application = "WScript", and Topic = "System"
Make that default if need be.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 31st, 2008, 02:35 PM
Menicus Menicus is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Greetings!Oracle128, my warmest THANK YOU for your kind help and support.I fixed the damn thing.
The problem had to do with the files associations.I followed the procedure exactly as you described,having only to change the New Actions name to "Nopen"-easiest first thought-, because I got the message that the "&Open" action was allready registered.It accepted the new action and it's name along with the parameters, then set it as default.From there I just executed the little saviour script fix and all returned to normal.
I can't describe pretty well with words just how grateful:thumbsup I am.You saved me!THANK YOU for devoting time and effort to look into it.

Kind Regards and my respect,

Menicus.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taskbar tooltips appear BELOW the level of the taskbar .Technician. Windows XP 22 August 5th, 2006 11:16 AM
taskbar miller123 Windows XP 8 May 13th, 2006 04:11 PM
taskbar usersgate Windows 98 1 January 1st, 2003 08:03 PM
No taskbar sahin Windows XP 2 December 30th, 2002 06:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:37 PM.