Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Internet / Browsers

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 30th, 2021, 11:35 PM
bot96 bot96 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 200
Disable IE from caching files?

Disable IE from cache files?. how do i do this?. Thanks to all.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old January 31st, 2021, 04:36 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,659
Hello my friend

Assuming all versions of IE are the same in this regard goto INTERNET OPTIONS/SETTINGS and change it to "Never" for check for stored pages... That I believe will make it so it wont use or try to access cached files......

Then click DELETE FILES/DELETE COOKIES to delete whats already there.....


I have mine set to Automatically (Im on IE6)

Good luck.....I hope this helps you disable it!!

Last edited by The Dude; January 31st, 2021 at 04:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 19th, 2021, 03:00 AM
It'sMe It'sMe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 46
Please excuse my intrusion, but two things sort of jumped out at me here.

Firstly, how can you use IE6 these days? I mean, I am seeing notices that Gmail won't load in standard using IE11 starting next month. And I have run into sites that simply won't load at all with IE11. One site has this really neat black curtain over their page --- that is a tech site, if memory serves correctly.

The second thing that jumped out at me here is that idea of not allowing your browser to store a cache. I thought that could also cause many websites to simply not load. Now dumping cookies and cache is no problem once you are done with a Net session. I do that all the time. But not allowing any cache at all seems --- well, I just wonder.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 19th, 2021, 06:27 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,659
Thankfully IE6 still works for what I do anyway......

Actually I think IE6 is the last GOOD unintrusive version of IE!!!!


You might be able to get IE11 to work by changing your UA to look like a different browser.... (Then gmail will still load for ya probably)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 20th, 2021, 01:43 AM
It'sMe It'sMe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 46
Firstly, I erred in my way of writing because I didn't mean to suggest I disliked that Gmail's Basic HTML platform. I actually keep all my Gmail accounts in that basic and only sometimes switch to that standard when I wish to do a lengthy correspondence.

BUT --- I am very interested in that point about making a browser look like another, so I am glad I made that mistake noted above.

I guess I'll go do some searching to find out what that is all about, unless you wish to flatter an old man and offer some sort of summary of what that "look like" is all about.

And as I have had IE6 stuck in my brain for a few hours it came to me that maybe IE6 was the first browser Microsoft put out with TDI enabled, yes?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 20th, 2021, 01:54 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,659
Yes well you can make your browser look like ANYTHING by putting the suer agent string in

It would be interesting if gmails enhanced interface would work if you made it look like Edge for example.......Heres all the User agents

http://deviceatlas.com/blog/list-of-user-agent-strings

I laugh sometimes when I come across a site that blocks IE6 because all I do is change my UA ro say MSIE 5.5 and it works


People have been lied to so much about IE6 AND THEY BELIEVE IT they go out there way to try and block it,its really comical.......

Microsoft tried for so long also!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 20th, 2021, 02:40 AM
It'sMe It'sMe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 46
I appreciate that link. Thank you. That smells like something I will take a liking to. I love doing that sort of thing. But part of the reason might be the age factor at my end. I've noticed that certain things don't set so well because of change and I suspect it is an age stubborn related type of mental thing. Then again, if you have been using IE6 for this many years and still like it, maybe there is something else going on with a desire for familiarity besides age. I mean, like cars --- my dad so many years ago drove a '55 Chevy for a long time, but as it ran just fine it seemed like a good idea. I have a couple of rather old cars and as I keep them in good condition, no problem. Maybe the Net shouldn't be any different.

Anyway, I do appreciate that link.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 21st, 2021, 08:16 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,659
Thank you for the kind words my friend
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 27th, 2021, 11:49 AM
dioolwi dioolwi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 5
How can I disable cache in EDGE ? We are doing Javascript development and testing it in IE8, but we have to clear the cache every time we make changes to the Javascript files.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 28th, 2021, 08:45 PM
dioolwi dioolwi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 5
I also need a help with this problem as I have failed to solve it on my own. I am from Portugal, https://worldcams.tv/portugal/fatima...ario-of-fatima, and most of the instructions are in English. If you could help, it will be highly appreciated. I will explain everything in more details in private correspondence. I will reimburse your time and efforts in full. Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old April 2nd, 2021, 03:56 AM
The Dude The Dude is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,659
Hello...... All I see there is a page about webcams.......

Is there something you need off the page?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:02 PM.