Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Gaming

Notices

Gaming Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of PC & Console Gaming issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 5th, 2007, 04:49 AM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
Unhappy CNC3 slows down

Hi, when i'm playing Command and Conquer after 10-20 mins of real time and 5-10 mins of game time the game starts to slow down compared to when i started. And i even changed the priority of cnc3game.dat to abovenormal

Below are my results from System Requirements Lab
Minimum Pass:
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n...z13/minreq.jpg
and
Recommended Fail:
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n.../failedreq.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 5th, 2007, 10:28 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 15
Posts: 7,436
Download and install SpeedFan. When the game starts to slow down, Minimize it and check your systems temps with SpeedFan, Record them and post them back here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 5th, 2007, 11:48 AM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
l337_GuY i cant seem to download it, never mind i found another mirror.
Should i play it in normal or abovenormal? Also should i select anything on the program such as automatic fan speed?
Can you tell me how to start monitoring or is it automatic? How do i find the information and copy paste it here?

Last edited by johnz14; May 5th, 2007 at 11:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 5th, 2007, 01:54 PM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
Okay, i wasn't sure if you get it from the Readings tab but i assume you do, anyways heres my record

Win9x:NO 64Bit:NO GiveIO:YES SpeedFan:YES
I/O properly initialized
Linked ISA BUS at $0290
Linked Intel 82801EB ICH5 SMBUS at $1400
Scanning ISA BUS at $0290...
check 1
check 2
check 3
check 4
IT8712F(2) check : 90 90 12 12
IT8712F/IT8705F found on ISA at $290
SuperIO Chip=IT8712F
Scanning Intel SMBus at $1400...
LM75 found on SMBus at $4E
SMART Enabled for drive 0
Found Maxtor 6Y120M0 (122.9GB)
Found ACPI temperature (21.8C)
End of detection
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 5th, 2007, 09:55 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 15
Posts: 7,436
I said record it, Not copy paste. - Thats why you got the wrong bit

Don't bother with Automatic fan speed, That will just slow the fans down to make the PC quiet but speed them up when it gets abit hotter.

What I was looking for was the temps listed under the readings tab.
You will see something like temp1 : 45C etc,.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 6th, 2007, 12:36 AM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
Ok i'll try it now when i first opened speedfan the temperature for:
Temp1:22C
Temp2:22C
Temp3:75C
Temp:0C
HD0:22C
Temp1:22C
Fan1:2209RPM

Now my Result when it was lagging (slowing down):
Temp1:25C
Temp2:25C
Temp3:82C
Temp:0C
HD0:27C - 28C
Temp1:22C
Fan1:3309RPM and 3516RPM

Last edited by johnz14; May 6th, 2007 at 12:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:08 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 15
Posts: 7,436
Aye.. Did this problem arise recently after cleaning your fan or since you have had the game installed?

Something is getting to 82C (I presume the CPU)..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:19 AM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
Before i cleaned my fan, btw when i cleaned my fan and said i had a closer look, the inside of the tower was dusty and especially on i think what looked to be the processor which had the logo intel.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:21 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 15
Posts: 7,436
You can't see the processor, Unless you have removed the heatsink. The CPU is only a small chip, And the heatsink usually covers over all of it. You probably saw the intel logo on either the north bridge or south bridge chipsets.

Check and make sure your heatsink is fastened down properlly.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:26 AM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by l337_GuY View Post
You can't see the processor, Unless you have removed the heatsink. The CPU is only a small chip, And the heatsink usually covers over all of it. You probably saw the intel logo on either the north bridge or south bridge chipsets.
Well i only had a look from the outside of the frame, to be more accurate i saw the logo from the left side of the tower (if your looking directly in front of the tower)

Quote:
Originally Posted by l337_GuY View Post
Check and make sure your heatsink is fastened down properlly.
Assuming what you wrote, you want me to open the tower right?
I tried opening it couldn't really theres this metal object and 4 screws on the left side of the tower, i'll take a photo if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:27 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 15
Posts: 7,436
How did you open it to clean the fan?

yes you need to open the case up. Look for the Heatsink and Fan which sits over the Processor, And adjust it to make sure it is screwed down properly or else it won't be cooling the Porcessor properly, Which is what it seems like.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:32 AM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
Oh i just stuck a pen in and vacuumed the dust out. I posted it in here
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:36 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 15
Posts: 7,436
Yeah I know, But was that in the back of the computer? i think youy just cleaned the Power Supply fan.

You need to remove the side panel to access the CPU's fan.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:47 AM
johnz14's Avatar
johnz14 johnz14 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Australia
Posts: 293
Yeah i cleaned the back of the computer
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 6th, 2007, 01:50 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 15
Posts: 7,436
Ok well forget that part. This time you need to open it and clean the Fan on the inside of the computer, Attached to the heatsink. As well as check that it is installed properly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comp slows, audio slows, eventually freezes wolfpacknw Windows XP 1 February 28th, 2007 01:23 AM
SP2 slows down browsing Petefloyd Internet / Browsers 5 September 10th, 2006 04:44 PM
NEW RAM slows computer down sexyassasianboi Windows 98 4 October 15th, 2004 01:47 PM
SP1 slows XP dazpook Windows XP 3 January 5th, 2004 05:41 PM
cd-rw slows my comp Diggy Hardware 6 January 12th, 2002 10:08 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:11 PM.