Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Topic Tools
Old October 1st, 2009, 04:40 PM

Can't access files saved off internet, virtual file maybe?

Hi,

I hope someone can help because i'm really stuck!

I'm a student and whenever I save a (PDF) research paper from the internet I do the same old: save as, name it and put it in a folder etc etc

Problem is that when I try to access it again (where i've saved it), it isn't there! At first i thought i had done something wrong so went to save it again but when i was about to save it again i saw the file in the folder, i just can't seem to get it any other time.

I seem to remember a message about a 'virtual file' but i can't find anything.

Hope that makes sense!

Thanks in advance.
Old October 1st, 2009, 05:06 PM
Cyber Tech Help Moderator

O/S: Windows 10 Home
If you first open whatever you use for pdf files, then use that program's File>Open option and navigate to the folder where you saved it, can you then see (and open) the saved file?
Old October 1st, 2009, 05:46 PM

No, when i do that, i go to the appropriate folder and 'no items match your search'.
Old October 3rd, 2009, 11:07 PM

*Bump!*

It appears not to affect word documents. In the past it has affected PDF and Microsoft document image writer documents.
Old October 4th, 2009, 12:03 AM
Cyber Tech Help Moderator

O/S: Windows 10 Home
I've seen some report the problem with disappearing downloads being due to AVG. However, I use AVG on Vista and I haven't experienced it.

If you're running AVG, temporarily disable it and try another download.