Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 24th, 2008, 04:12 AM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 41
Posts: 243
My RAM usage slowly creeps up from 35-55% usage through the day...why?

I have a gadget that keeps track of physical memory usage and after re booting my system the physical memory usage is usually in the 30% range. After about 12 hours of running it has crept to around 55%. I looked at my running processes before and after. When I start there are 51 processes running and hours later there are only 53 running, the extras being one for my media player, the other for firefox.
Is this a normal thing to happen or something I should be concerned about?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 24th, 2008, 04:57 AM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 41
Posts: 243
it has now crept up to 60%, what is going on here?!?

still no new processes running either
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 25th, 2008, 01:12 PM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 41
Posts: 243
anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 26th, 2008, 12:42 AM
Gnomad Gnomad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 443
Well, when you reboot your system it clears everything out of memory. As you use your computer and open and close different programs, the programs are loaded into memory, some of the files needed for different programs will stay in memory until it is moved by either a newly opened program or another reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 26th, 2008, 01:00 AM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 41
Posts: 243
yeah it always goes back down after a reboot. so I guess this is just normal activity then? dang gadget just made me worried for nothing lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 26th, 2008, 01:10 AM
guitarist809 guitarist809 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
O/S: Windows Vista 64-bit
Posts: 146
You can always buy more ram to slow down the process
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 26th, 2008, 01:16 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
firefox chews up memory
if you open a tab firefox saves it in memory (in case you close it and want it back up again)
What I see is firefox just increases in memory usage, the more tabs you open (and then close) the more memory firefox uses
I think in firefox 3 they fix these problems

but then firefox taking up 20% of 3GB of RAM is unlikely
theres probably some other programs that do what firefox does and chew up memory

but with 3GB of memory I wouldn't worry
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 26th, 2008, 01:31 AM
guitarist809 guitarist809 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
O/S: Windows Vista 64-bit
Posts: 146
Try and figure out what process is using up so much memory.

Also, I know every computer is different, but when I was using Vista 32bit, it only found 2.5gigs of my 4 gigs of ram. If you go to 64bit, you *might* see a performance increase. But your computer might be using all three gigs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 26th, 2008, 03:11 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
only 2.5?
should be 3.25 or something eh
if you do go 64 bit and you have all the drivers you need
it will run like the wind
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old March 26th, 2008, 07:17 PM
Meghiddo Meghiddo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Austin , Texas
Age: 41
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarist809 View Post
Try and figure out what process is using up so much memory.

Also, I know every computer is different, but when I was using Vista 32bit, it only found 2.5gigs of my 4 gigs of ram. If you go to 64bit, you *might* see a performance increase. But your computer might be using all three gigs.
the system picks up 3069mb of physical memory (that is 3gb right?).
It is a new system, I have just been restarting once a day for now :\
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old March 31st, 2008, 09:54 AM
Alexmb Alexmb is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 12
Try using a program such as RamBooster - it helps clear some RAM and latency issues, sometimes, I can jump from 500mb to 750mb after a day of use.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iExplore 100 CPU usage (114k mem usage)!! Kamikaze92 Windows XP 4 May 25th, 2007 06:35 PM
computer runs slowly, cpu usage near 100% with few apps running CarltonBanks Malware Removal 3 October 13th, 2006 11:52 PM
100% CPU Usage then end program and another goes to 100% usage John05 Malware Removal 6 September 6th, 2006 04:49 AM
100% CPU Usage then end program and another goes to 100% usage John05 Windows XP 3 September 4th, 2006 02:05 AM
Too Much CPU Usage!?!?! Fate Windows XP 1 July 8th, 2004 02:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:37 PM.