Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 26th, 2007, 08:09 PM
El_Diablo El_Diablo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Vista won't save settings (mouse, wallpaper)

I've had a look around the forum, not found this one.
I change my mouse cursors, no probs.
I change my desktop wallpaper, no probs.
When I switch PC back on again the following day, they have resorted back to windows settings. I go into mouse settings, pointers, and my new cursors are showing, I have to click OK for them to change to the new ones again.
I also have to change my wallpaper to the new one every time I start PC.

Anyone else having that problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 27th, 2007, 02:23 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi El_Diablo. Are you running any security software that prevents changes being saved? I have heard of OneCare causing similar problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 27th, 2007, 08:59 AM
El_Diablo El_Diablo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
You've hit the nail on the head, yes I'm running One Care!
I would like to warn other people about this software, I bought One Care for 40 (legitimate copy) thinking it was a full program, official Microsoft box etc.
When I installed in, IT IS A TRIAL VERSION lasting 75 days, you then have to pay ANOTHER 40 to activate it after the 75 days.

Thank you again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 27th, 2007, 09:07 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi El_Diablo. Firstly, have you uninstalled OneCare to be sure that is causing the problem?

Secondly, where did you download it from? OneCare offers a 90 day free trial see here and see the FAQ's here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 27th, 2007, 07:34 PM
El_Diablo El_Diablo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
I didn't download onecare, I bought it from a store (Staples in UK) in retail box, both box and CD with hologram. I am about to uninstall it now to see...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 28th, 2007, 02:16 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Ok, let us know how you get on. You may need to contact Staples and talk to them about your purchase.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 29th, 2007, 11:23 PM
El_Diablo El_Diablo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
I have uninstalled Onecare and it is still the same, will not save mouse cursors but the desktop background is ok now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 30th, 2007, 03:35 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
What mouse do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old April 30th, 2007, 01:45 PM
El_Diablo El_Diablo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Logitech optical.
It's a brand new PC, dual core AMD, ASUS, Router/modem, new everything, 3D graphics card.
No matter what I do, it won't save mouse cursor, I have to open mouse settings, the new cursors are displayed, I don't have to click apply, just click ok and it changes.
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 1st, 2007, 12:33 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Check here to make sure that you have the latest Vista driver for your mouse. If so and you still have a problem, try disabling all Logitech startups using msconfig (Go to Start Search and type msconfig. A link to the file will appear at the top of your Menu. Click on it and click on the Startup Tab. Uncheck all Logitech startups). Reboot and let us know if this made any difference.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 25th, 2007, 08:48 PM
El_Diablo El_Diablo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
I have now given up!!
Tried everything, it just will not save the cursor I want!
I am now using the standard issue windows black cursors!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 26th, 2007, 01:25 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Quote:
I don't have to click apply, just click ok and it changes.
Try clicking Apply and then ok.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 30th, 2007, 10:24 PM
El_Diablo El_Diablo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
I have clicked apply, it will not save the mouse cursor!
Every time I restart it resorts back to default.
I can change the cursors to one of the default sets (black) and it saves them no probs but it just does not like the one I want!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 31st, 2007, 01:21 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
What cursor are you trying to use? Perhaps it would help if I could see what is running in your computer. Go here and download Hijack This v1.99 to your Desktop. When you have downloaded it, doubleclick to install. Once installed, open Hijack This and click on scan. Most of the files listed will be harmless and/or required so do not make any changes, just click on Save Log, copy it and post it back in this thread.

Still using Hijack This, click on Config > Misc Tools > Open Uninstall Manager and click on Save List. Save the log to your Desktop and then post it in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 4th, 2007, 10:08 PM
blugold's Avatar
blugold blugold is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
O/S: Windows Vista
Location: Southern NV
Posts: 6
Vista won't save settings (mouse, wallpaper)

FYI. Me too! I added Big Arrow, Beating heart and Globe. Use requires going to control panel, mouse, pointers and saving. I've reduced a few 'services' so it may be that. Donno.

Anyone else?

Spider is really flaky! Keeps bring up a saved (NOT) game to replay. The clues lie (intermediate player) hinting to move black to red etc.

Thanks for the ear.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP wallpaper won't save compuease Windows XP 2 February 3rd, 2010 07:38 PM
Vista Video Settings Won't Save - Please Help blupowerade Windows Vista 43 September 20th, 2009 09:38 PM
vista will not save my settings. stoggs Windows Vista 0 February 19th, 2007 08:04 AM
is there a way to save and export a wallpaper? joeassneck Linux 1 December 29th, 2005 07:20 AM
desktop/settings/ icons/ wallpaper/lots of files all vanished bgslgr Windows XP 1 February 15th, 2004 12:30 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:23 PM.