Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows 95

Notices

Windows 95 Problem solving for the Windows 95 Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old September 22nd, 2004, 06:16 PM
moon73 moon73 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
windows95

im trying to get my nephews pc up and going they have windows95 installed but there are some programs misssing such as dial up network,internet explorer so should i just reinstall windows95 or do a try a boot disk?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 22nd, 2004, 07:52 PM
NetBrakr NetBrakr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 100
The boot disk do nothing on Windows 95. Its kinda of like testing disk and needed help to boot the computer. I am not sure this feature has this Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel because its has been a loooooong time I havent using Win95. If this does have it, just run the program, you should see Windows Setup tab and just install the stuffs. But if not, just reinstall Windows 95.

JC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 22nd, 2004, 10:13 PM
mattpg1 mattpg1 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,119
Lightbulb

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;285189

Go to the link above and download "Download DUN 1.4 for Windows 95" and run the "DUN14-95.exe" on your nephew's computer.

You may want to check with your Internet Service Provider to see if they'll let you download Internet Explorer. By the way, get IE 5.5 not 6.0 for Win95. I have TDS.NET and the homepage is http://portal.tds.net/ . I click Get Updated Software, sign in and it leads me to the download page.

You may want to get Mozilla for Windows for free at the link below if your nephew's computer meets the minimum hardware requirements at the lower right of the page.

http://www.mozilla.org/products/mozilla1.x/sysreq.html

Oh, I'm not sure if DUN1.4 can stand alone as it says it's an update. I'll poke around for DUN origional.

Last edited by mattpg1; September 22nd, 2004 at 10:27 PM. Reason: DUN1.4 Update
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 23rd, 2004, 12:05 AM
mattpg1 mattpg1 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 1,119
It just occurred to me, how do you know you don't have Dial-Up Networking?
If you install that DUN14-95.exe and it seems to work then I guess you do have Dial-Up Networking. I don't think it would hurt if you don't

Have you tried inetwiz?

Go into the start button, select run, type inetwiz. Enter your ISP's phone number info, then the username and psssword, then what your ISP's name is. This could at least make installing IE easier. If you do have DUN it could allow you to do some things over the internet that don't require an internet browser like installing or using Seti at home (http://setiathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/) if you copy the installation file from another computer.

Last edited by mattpg1; September 23rd, 2004 at 12:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows95 bios botrice Windows 95 2 September 29th, 2005 08:24 PM
windows95 cwiz Windows 95 7 January 17th, 2005 02:37 AM
Windows95 Jmclemont Windows 95 2 March 27th, 2004 04:53 AM
reinstall windows95 kirkpritchatt Windows 95 8 December 30th, 2003 07:04 AM
windows95 unwanted listings southernair Windows 95 1 November 18th, 2001 02:28 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:38 PM.