Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old April 29th, 2015, 08:53 PM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
Ok, did that. Computer still slow and shuts off by itself.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old April 30th, 2015, 06:23 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Since it was out of your hands for 6 months, there is a possibility that you have malware/spyware. Please post in our Malware removal forum and link to this thread.

Malware Removal Forum:

http://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/...splay.php?f=25

In your post Title it:

Sent from Vista by forum by Murf-HELP

Then post a link to this forum thread
http://www.cybertechhelp.com/forums/...te=1&p=1283104

I would move this thread over but has too many post for them to read through. But at least they can see what we have done so far. Let's make sure you are clean before going further.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old April 30th, 2015, 08:26 PM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
Ok, posted it.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old May 1st, 2015, 03:25 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Great we will wait until they are though with you, too see if we need to go further. Be Patience they are really busy over there.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old May 19th, 2015, 06:00 PM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
I'm back!! Miss me, lol just kidding. Ok my computer is clean.

System Restore, I've tried twice. When i click create new point, i get a pop up saying "The restore point could not be created for the following reason: The shadow copy provider has an unexpected error while trying to process the specified operation. (0x8004230F). Please try again."
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old May 20th, 2015, 01:03 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Hey, Lisa is CLEAN....

Is it running better? Is it still shutting itself off?

Do you by chance have Norton on that thing?

While trying to set a restore, did you disable any anti-virus you have?

Try this:

Please click on the Start button -> And type Services.msc (you can start typing this as soon as the start menu opens) -> right click on Services.msc -> Choose Run as Admin

Now inside the service list please find COM + event System -> Double click on it -> Makes sure 'Service status' is set to Running -> If the Start is NOT greyed out click on Start -> Set start up to type to Automatic ->Press OK

Now check the settings on the following Services:

Block Level Backup Engine Service
-Start up type = Manual
-Service status = Stopped

Microsoft Software Shadow Copy Provider
-Start up type = Manual
-Service status = Running > Click on Start to start running the service

Remote Procedure Call (RPC)l (you wont be able to change these settings. just report to me what they are)
-Start up type = Automatic
-Service Status = Running

System Event Notification Service
-Start up type = Automatic
-Service Status = Running

Volume Shadow Copy
-Start up type = Manual
-Service Status = Stop


Post results
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old May 20th, 2015, 08:31 PM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
It has not shut off by itself.

Yes, i had all anti-virus shut off when trying to do a system restore.

I do not see Block Level Backup Engine Service.

Remote Procedure Call: Status: Started Start up type: Automatic
(There is a file below that called Remote Procedure Call Location. That is set to Manual)

Ok, everything else was done.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old May 21st, 2015, 04:31 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Have you rebooted then try create a new point?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old May 22nd, 2015, 06:07 PM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
I have. I shut down my computer every night.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old May 23rd, 2015, 03:17 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
  • Open up the Start Menu
    Right-click on Computer
    Select Properties
    Click on the Advanced system settings
    Select the System Protection tab
    In System Restore section click Create button
    Give the name if you want and click Create
Can you try this? Or have you

Remote Procedure Call change to manual
You really don't need this unless a program from another computer needs to access yours.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old May 23rd, 2015, 09:38 PM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
When i try to create i get the message "The restore point could not be created for the following reason: The shadow copy provider had an unexpected error while trying to process the specified operation (0x80004230F). Please try again.

When i tried Remote Procedure, i right click on it go to properties. The window to change the start up type is not available it is greyed out.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old May 24th, 2015, 01:56 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Apparently, that error pops up after you've put the PC into sleep mode. Try disabling your sleep mode and rebooting your PC.

Sleep mode is controlled in the Power Options window, which you can get to from the Windows Control Panel: Either open the Power Options button directly in Classic view, or from the Control Panel Home, choose System and Maintenance and then Power Options.

Also, lets make sure Volume Shadow Copy is enabled

1. First bring up the System Properties window by going to your start menu, and opening up the Control Panel. In Control Panel, click "System and Maintenance". in the window that opens, click "System". On the left panel, look for a line that says "System protection" and click it. The Windows User Account Control, or UAC, will pop up. Click the "Continue" button.

2. In the dialog box that appears, you should be able to see a list box with all the available drives on your computer. Next to each drive is a check box. If there is a check in the box next to the drive, it means volume shadow copy, along with System Restore, is enabled for that drive.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old May 24th, 2015, 10:14 PM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
My internet browser is slow in response.

Ok, disabled sleep mode, rebooted.

System Properties all 3 boxes checked

PQSERVICE 5/19/2015 4:06pm

Acer C (system) none

Data D 5/19/2015 4:06pm
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old May 25th, 2015, 01:01 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Did you try again?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old May 26th, 2015, 12:04 AM
liza's Avatar
liza liza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 182
Lol, i can't believe i forgot to post that. Yes, i tried but got the same pop up error.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
File:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\combatt.sys Missing or Corrupt Simone424 Windows Vista 15 January 28th, 2011 11:18 PM
XP won't start, missing files or corrupt or ??? maynard59 Windows XP 2 November 21st, 2010 10:22 AM
missing files/corrupt files thbamagirl Windows Vista 2 April 17th, 2009 04:46 PM
Boot problem, Corrupt or missing files Atrayu Windows XP 1 October 3rd, 2005 11:36 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:46 PM.