Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 6th, 2007, 02:11 PM
Mr Bean's Avatar
Mr Bean Mr Bean is offline
Dw i ddim yn hoffi eira
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Barrie, Ontario (formerly Penperlleni, Cymru)
Age: 51
Posts: 4,954
Clarification

Please can somebody confirm that if I was to buy Vista Ultimate OEM I would be able to install it more than once. I have read so many crossed reports on this that I don't know whether it is possible.

I format every six months so I don't intend purchasing as frequently.

If you catch my drift
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 6th, 2007, 04:12 PM
Pi rules's Avatar
Pi rules Pi rules is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
O/S: Linux
Location: US
Posts: 3,111
I'm honestly not sure either. I may buy XP Media Center 2005 OEM from Newegg which comes with an upgrade coupon giving you Vista Home Premium Upgrade DVD for shipping cost only. I'm still not sure how much Vista OEMs will cost, but this way may still be cheaper, and I'll be able to try out MCE for a little while.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 6th, 2007, 04:20 PM
Mr Bean's Avatar
Mr Bean Mr Bean is offline
Dw i ddim yn hoffi eira
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Barrie, Ontario (formerly Penperlleni, Cymru)
Age: 51
Posts: 4,954
Here's the prices from a UK retailer to give you some idea.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 6th, 2007, 04:28 PM
uripyores's Avatar
uripyores uripyores is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: tinyurl.com/yd5zd6
Posts: 2,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bean View Post
Here's the prices from a UK retailer to give you some idea.
352.49 inc VAT - arghhh!!! that's more than I paid for this computer. I'll be sticking with XP for the foreseeable future.

[that's the full version I guess]

Last edited by uripyores; January 6th, 2007 at 04:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 6th, 2007, 04:50 PM
Mr Bean's Avatar
Mr Bean Mr Bean is offline
Dw i ddim yn hoffi eira
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Barrie, Ontario (formerly Penperlleni, Cymru)
Age: 51
Posts: 4,954
Yes that's the retail version. The OEM is about 135 which isn't really too bad. As far as I can gather the only differences between the two are the warranties and support.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 6th, 2007, 05:49 PM
MishY's Avatar
MishY MishY is offline
Cyber Tech Help Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
O/S: Linux
Location: England
Age: 46
Posts: 9,286
I've read the same as you Mr Bean and tbh I'm not sure if the OEM can be installed on your PC after say a mobo upgrade. I would suspect it will be possible but you'll have to go through the whole activation process.

I'm buying the retail version of Ultimate, though I wish MS would send me a copy for nothing along with a nice laptop like they did those bloggers, what with this site and all lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 6th, 2007, 07:00 PM
Mr Bean's Avatar
Mr Bean Mr Bean is offline
Dw i ddim yn hoffi eira
 
Join Date: May 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Barrie, Ontario (formerly Penperlleni, Cymru)
Age: 51
Posts: 4,954
Live in hope Mishy mate

The activation thing wouldn't bother me, personally, but it would be nice if they stood up and said yeah or nay.

And Microsoft wonder why people get browned off with them!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 6th, 2007, 10:35 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 35
Posts: 4,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by MishY View Post
I've read the same as you Mr Bean and tbh I'm not sure if the OEM can be installed on your PC after say a mobo upgrade. I would suspect it will be possible but you'll have to go through the whole activation process.
woulnd that be like what we have with xp?

Quote:
I'm buying the retail version of Ultimate, though I wish MS would send me a copy for nothing along with a nice laptop like they did those bloggers, what with this site and all lol
yey
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 7th, 2007, 02:57 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,416
I believe the rules will be the same as XP. However, I do know that VISTA will incorporate what is known as "Software Protection Platform" (SPP).

This technology will determine whether a copy of Vista is genuine or not. When Vista detects an invalid product key, tampered license files, attempts to hack product activation, or other indications that the software is not or is no longer genuine MS, it will display messages to the user and some functionality will be affected. Once in a non-genuine state, certain designated features will be disabled and the system may be required to reactivate and/or perform a successful validation to restore those features or prevent further loss of functionality. If the system is required to reactivate, a 30 day grace period will be provided after which time the system will be moved into a reduced functionality mode if it fails to activate.

Some affected programs within Vista:

Windows Aero
Windows Defender
Windows ReadyBoost
Windows Update
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Clarification arstacey Networking 2 May 30th, 2008 12:38 PM
Clarification grinchman007 Malware Removal 1 July 28th, 2006 03:57 AM
clarification blackkettle Windows 98 3 November 10th, 2003 06:02 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:29 AM.