Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old December 21st, 2008, 07:54 PM
chris t's Avatar
chris t chris t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 123 Notarealstreet St.
Age: 36
Posts: 102
Blue Screen In Vista

Hello guys. I have an issue Ive never encountered before. I run on a laptop with two hard drives and vista ultimate x64. I never saw a vista blue screen untill about a week ago. I felt that the computer had gotten too clutered with programs and the registry was beyond repair and just didnt want to deal with it so I recovered to factory (Since its an hp i dont get the actual vista disk). The laptop has 2 hard drives so this formats a part of my 1st hard drive, the actual windows partition, and leaves the 2nd drive alone, where a bunch of pictured and some games are installed as well as my music. Shortly after I started getting a bluescreen that dumped memory to disk and restarted the computer. This happened when I tried to upload a file, that is when the browse menu opened, or when my computer sits unused for a while. When I am doing something on the computer other than browsing files, no blue screens are encountered. The specific error it gives me is "Page fault in nonpaged area" and gives a bunch of memory addresses for "ntfs.sys" . From my knowledge this seems to be an issue of the file system but someone said it could be a memory issue.
Anyone have any idea how to fix this?

Last edited by chris t; December 21st, 2008 at 08:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 21st, 2008, 10:16 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi Chris. The particular error could be due to a number of different causes:

Quote:
* Hardware failure (memory, processor, or motherboard).
* Anti-virus software that is running on your computer.
* Drivers installed by third-party software.
See here. It could also be caused by a malware rootkit infection however as it occurred after you restored to factory default, this is not very likely.

Vista includes a utility that will test your RAM. Click on the Start orb and type memory in the Start Search box. The "Memory Diagnostics Tool" will appear, hit Enter and you can schedule a run. See here for more help and how to use advanced diagnostics.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 22nd, 2008, 01:13 AM
Rockpig Rockpig is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 61
Posts: 278
Hi guys! Could it have anything to do with the fact that there are programs running from the 2nd hard drive which are no longer registered properly because of the reinstall?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue screen in vista laptop Nikial Windows Vista 3 May 14th, 2016 08:20 PM
Vista Blue Screen morris Windows Vista 9 March 16th, 2012 10:17 PM
Vista blue screen then repair app Jaytee Windows Vista 3 February 22nd, 2012 12:57 AM
Vista Blue Screen, or Black screen wombie25 Windows Vista 14 May 27th, 2009 07:43 AM
Windows Vista Blue Screen fruitshoot Windows Vista 1 January 22nd, 2008 02:57 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:30 PM.