Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 10th, 2007, 06:39 PM
tom_36's Avatar
tom_36 tom_36 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Chelmsford, England
Age: 33
Posts: 686
My FINAL FINAL FINAL build!

Hihi,

After MONTHS of research, this is the build I have finally decided on. My main concerns are the motherboard and RAM. I would really appreciate it if people with more knowledge than me could give me some feedback on this build. I don't really want to spend any more however.

HD - Samsung SpinPoint T HD321KJ 320GB SATA-II 16MB Cache

Case - Antec Nine Hundred gaming case

Graphics card - EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB GDDR3 HDTV/Dual DVI (PCI-Express)

Optical Drive - Samsung SH-S183ABEBN 18x18 DVD±RW Dual Layer Serial ATA ReWriter

PSU - Corsair HX 620W ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU

CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.40GHz (1066FSB)

RAM - G.Skill 2GB DDR2 HZ PC2-6400C4 (2x1GB) CAS4 Dual Channel Kit

Motherboard - Gigabyte GA_P35_DS3R (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2




Please please please I'm not sure on the motherboard or RAM, so advice would reeeeeeeeealy be appreciated.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 10th, 2007, 07:48 PM
misterbadnback's Avatar
misterbadnback misterbadnback is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Western PA.
Posts: 1,484
Everything seems to be fine. The G.Skill Ram is fine since G.Skill makes quality products. Your MB I'm not sure about since I have never used Gigabyte products.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 10th, 2007, 11:13 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Yep, Looks good. Gigabyte's a good brand. One of my favorites (now that Asus is crap).

Just make sure you know what your doing, If this is your first PC build from scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 11th, 2007, 01:56 AM
tom_36's Avatar
tom_36 tom_36 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Chelmsford, England
Age: 33
Posts: 686
Yeh it is....i have replaced parts before etc but does anyone know of any good guides to follow? Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 11th, 2007, 02:42 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
This is a basic one.

Cody's guide;

1 Nothing but the power supply, CPU,installed on the motherboard, plug your power cord in and turn power on.
2 You should hear a series of long beeps & all your fans should be turning.
3 The board is looking for memory.
4 That tells you your 'board, CPU & power supply are working.
5 Unplug power cord (very important an ATX power supply always has power to it when the cord is pluged in).
6 Install 1 stick of RAM in the first bank, it should be marked either 0 or 1
7 Plug your power cord in and turn your power on.
8 You should get 1 long and 3 short beeps. It will be looking for the video card.
9 That tells you your PS/'board/CPU/RAM are working.
10 Unplug power cord.
11 Install your video card and plug your monitor into your video card.
12 Plug your power cord in turn your power on.
13 You should get a power up test which is 1 short beep.
14 You should see your CPU/RAM/video reconized on the screen.
15 You will get a disk boot failure because you have no drives installed. In this case every thing you have installed is working.
16 Shut machine down and unplug power cord.
17 Install all your drives, set your BIOS up and install your operating system.


I had a quick skim over this one and it looks good, With details etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 11th, 2007, 03:12 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
hmm similar setup to my cousin's
We ditched the 6600 and went for the AMD 6000+
mostly since the 6600 looked a hard to install and the performance difference was small compared to the price difference

just trying to save you about $50 - $100 here and time spent on trying to get that heatsink in
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 11th, 2007, 11:57 AM
tom_36's Avatar
tom_36 tom_36 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Chelmsford, England
Age: 33
Posts: 686
Thanks everyone, with regards to the BIOS, how should i install it ie booting from a disc etc? And how will i know which BIOS version to use?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 11th, 2007, 12:06 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Ahh, You don't need to worry about installing the BIOS, It's like the main part of the motherboard and is already on it. The ONLY reason you should update the BIOS is if you are having hardware compatibility issues, as a near last resort. A bad flashing of the BIOS can kill the motherboard and make it useless.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 11th, 2007, 12:36 PM
tom_36's Avatar
tom_36 tom_36 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Chelmsford, England
Age: 33
Posts: 686
ok thanks, I just went on overclockers and searched for the gigabyte p35. (http://www.overclockers.co.uk/search...g=gigabyte+p35).

Are there any overwhelming differences and is it worth buying the more expensive one? I have read the descriptions but they all seem fairly similar other than a couple support DDR3.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 11th, 2007, 08:52 PM
tom_36's Avatar
tom_36 tom_36 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Chelmsford, England
Age: 33
Posts: 686
bumpety bump
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 11th, 2007, 11:06 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Don't see why you bumped.. Learn to be patient.

I don't see any difference in the motherboards. There is too much writing there for me to read and note down any significant differences. Just get the one you are getting initially.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Build. Final tweaks b4 purchase? nod25 Hardware 0 August 24th, 2007 03:49 AM
Need help with Final Cut Pro 4 ladyjazz Applications 6 October 13th, 2006 11:05 PM
Final Four renegade600 Open Discussion 6 March 28th, 2006 10:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:46 PM.