Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 4th, 2007, 04:26 AM
ibmman476's Avatar
ibmman476 ibmman476 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: CT
Posts: 197
Intel celeron vs. Cyrix M II?

I have an old Intel celeron processor that I have salvaged from my Maxtech, which ran windows 98,

My compaq is running on a 250 mhz Cyrix M II proc.

My question is, which one is better for my computer, Which one has more mhz, and should I put the celeron in and take the cyrix out? and finally, Is swapping proc. somethng that anyone can do or does it have to be done by a technician?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 4th, 2007, 05:24 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,434
The celeron may not fit. You need to ensure that it will. All processors are different.

Cyrix used a performance measurement for their processor's. i.e.,
a 166Mhz performed like a 200Mhz..

You don't tell us the speed of the celeron so we cannot answer.

You will need to identify your motherboard to see if the celeron would fit. Also you will need to know the speed of the celeron to make a decision on which one would be faster.

You posted in the XP forum are you running XP with a 250Mhz processor?

If you run Everest Home Edition it should tell you which motherboard you have.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 4th, 2007, 05:36 AM
ibmman476's Avatar
ibmman476 ibmman476 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: CT
Posts: 197
Yes, I have the Cyrix 250 mhz in in my compaq that i have recently upgraded from 98 to xp could that be why it is slow?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 4th, 2007, 05:37 AM
ibmman476's Avatar
ibmman476 ibmman476 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: CT
Posts: 197
where can i find out what the speed of my celeron was can a computer store tell me?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 4th, 2007, 07:45 AM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
you cant just upgrade
i think Cyrix 2 used socket 7
there exists no celeron on socket 7
AMD make its K6s on socket 7 but you must find out if your board supports it
run everest from the link from murf and then post the log up here
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uestions about Intel Celeron D Ed Williams Hardware 5 March 10th, 2006 10:48 PM
Intel Celeron D processors.. Neo_burn Hardware 3 February 18th, 2006 07:35 PM
Intel Celeron M Or Intel Pentium Processeor M? JoEdaGiGGoLo Hardware 2 January 12th, 2006 10:37 PM
Intel Celeron 2.4 GHz or Intel Pentium 4 1.8GHz mesak Hardware 8 June 3rd, 2004 10:24 AM
intel celeron question Bob Covert Hardware 2 August 3rd, 2003 11:25 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:34 PM.