Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Topic Tools
Old October 9th, 2007, 10:28 PM

\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded

My operating system has been acting funny for the past week. I decided to reload the operating system, windows xp home edition. Well, I have never done this before but being a computer literate person I figuered, "how hard could it be?" Well, I think I've gotten in way over my head. I created the boot discs and loaded them. Then, when it asked me which partition to use, I deleted the info from my c: drive (big mistake right?). Holding my breath through all the warning screens I deleted the info. Then I tried to load the xp system from the disc and got an error. Like a dummy, I didn't write down the error, instead tried to reload the boot discs again. Now i'm getting the error message below:

File \biosinfo.inf could not be loaded. Error code 4097.

How do I fix this problem and load my operating system back on my computer??? Please help if possible!!!!
Old October 9th, 2007, 10:42 PM

system specs

btw it's a Dell Demension purchased in 2004. It has 80GB harddrive and I think 512MB RAM.
Old October 9th, 2007, 11:12 PM
CTH Subscriber

First installing XP you do not need boot disks like when you install Windows 98x versions. All you need is the xp disk because it's bootable and formats/partitions drives without the need for the boot disks. Set your computer through BIOS/Setup (press F2 when starting the computer) and change boot order to accept your cdrom drive as first boot device. Have your xp cd in the drive and save and exit Setup.

At the prompt, press any key to boot from the cd, then follow the onscreen prompts. If you get any errors post what they are here in this thread.
Old October 9th, 2007, 11:39 PM