Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 27th, 2008, 03:23 AM
Led Head Led Head is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
windows reinstallation

hey all im new hear and i have but one question, i recently had a thunderstorm in my area which knocked the power out, and when i tried to turn my computer on when the power came back, i was faced with a screen that tells you that you can start windows in safe mode, start it from the last known working configuration, or start windows normally. I've tried all those options and but they only get to the screen where its a black screen with the windows logo, and that blue progress bar, and goes no further. Anyways i've looked it up on microsoft and it appears to me that a reinstallation of windows is neccessary. I plan to follow the guide i found here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315341/ under method 2: Repair Install Of Windows XP by Starting your Computer From The Windows XP CD.

but my question is, well first of all is that quide what i'm looking for, and secondly will that process wipe out all my installed programs on my computer? because i really dont want to have to reinstall all those programs again, as i just did not long ago when i built it lol. Thank you very much in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 27th, 2008, 04:50 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 771
Repair option will leave your programs, and data in tact.
Just make sure, you don't make very common mistake, by avoiding this:
To repair a Windows XP installation by using Recovery Console, press R.
It'll wipe out your data.

Better guide: http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 27th, 2008, 06:13 AM
Led Head Led Head is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
crap, i think i pressed that in an attempt to repair windows...whatif you pressed it and so on, and it think i tried a fixboot command in it am i screwed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 27th, 2008, 04:06 PM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 771
You tried JUST fixboot, nothing else?
If so, you should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 28th, 2008, 04:12 AM
Led Head Led Head is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
phew yes thats all i tried. So i tried a repair install of windows according to the guide i posted in the original post, but still nothing. so i did a bit more research and i have a SATA hard drive in my computer and i read, that its neccessary to press F6 in a situation like this, so i tried this and i'm faced with a screen now, which says

"-To specify additional SCSI adapters, CD_Rom. ors special disc controllers, for use with windows, including those for which you have a device support disc for a mas storage device manufacturer, Press S

- If you do not have any device support discs from a mass storage device manufacturer, or do not want to specify additional mass storage devices for use with windows, Press ENTER"

for me i bought my hard drive as a OEM so i got no discs/manuals with it, just strickly the hard drive. so do i press ENTER since i have no "support discs"? or is this process even neccessary. I'm assuming it is as i had no success with trying a normal repair install of windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 28th, 2008, 04:19 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 771
Yes, you press Enter.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 28th, 2008, 05:05 PM
Led Head Led Head is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
lol god this is getting annoying, so i've run into yet another problem, i get to where windows starts installing devices. it then tells me it cannot locate file
P17.sys on creative installer CD-ROM so i assume thats my sound card because its a creative sound blaster sound card, but when i put the CD that came with the sound card it still won't find it, ive tried putting the windows disc in, my motherboard disc in, and my video card disc in, i dont think i have anymore discs to try. i have no clue what to do, or where to find this file anyone know what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 29th, 2008, 12:51 AM
Led Head Led Head is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
ok, well i fixed my last problem i posted about. but now i've run into a new problem where, i've completed the reinstall process, but it gets to the blue Welcome screen but then it hangs up and won't go any further. should i try another reinstall or do i just have to bite the bullet and just try and do a fresh install of windows? i really hoping to try and keep all my programs on my computer, so if there is a way to fix with first i would like to try that first, but i guess if theres no other way...your help is much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 29th, 2008, 05:19 AM
Broni's Avatar
Broni Broni is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Daly City, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 771
Try repair one more time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP still not working after reinstallation audrey623 Windows XP 5 January 29th, 2009 03:37 PM
Windows XP Reinstallation Problem ratigan Windows XP 0 June 26th, 2007 08:28 PM
Windows XP reinstallation NEED HELP DOWN FOR OVER A WEEK JTSonmor Windows XP 4 June 15th, 2007 10:21 PM
Deleting Windows after reinstallation ccawhx Windows XP 1 July 26th, 2004 04:09 PM
Windows 98 Reinstallation almara Windows 98 2 February 5th, 2004 04:22 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:01 PM.