Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Networking

Notices

Networking Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Networking, router, and Wi-Fi issues

Topic Tools
Old October 31st, 2004, 03:07 PM

WinXP Bridge Problems

Ok; I'm a little new to networking so go easy on me...

I have two PC's and a laptop running WinXP Home... I have a cable modem connection which runs ethernet cable into a Linksys router... The router then connects to my 2 PC's allowing them to share the Net connection.

One of my PC's has a 'g' series network card and so does my laptop... The other PC; simply has a standard ethernet adapter... Now the PC without the wireless card can access the Net fine; but I was attempting to setup ICS on the second PC (With the wireless card) so that my laptop could share the connection without needing to be plugged into the router.

So here is the problem; everything was working fine; until I rebooted the machine last night; as I rebooted the non-wireless machine was working fine and still is; however I have lost my internet access on the other machines... I've followed my steps to re-install the network and get it up and running again; but I've hit a snag...

In network connections; it shows that there are no active "Bridges" and none of my connections are "Bridged"... However; if I try to bridge a connection to get my wireless card to re-interact with my ethernet card; I simply get a Windows error:

"An unexpected error occurred while configuring the Network Bridge."

Now I've tried absolutely everything I can think of to reset my network connections; uninstalled and reinstalled absolutely everything (Except the entire OS) and cannot get anything to work; I have no "Restore Point" to roll-back to and just cannot find a way to reset this error...