Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Topic Tools
Old July 4th, 2004, 03:09 PM

Hard Drive is getting sick.....

Hello and Happy Fourth to everyone. I run Win 98SE on a Compaq computer. The last day or so my computer will make a weird clicking noise and then want to restart itself. When it does, a message on a black screen comes up and says cannot read harddrive. So I restart computer manually, go through scan disk and all is okay. It just does this all of a sudden. Has happened twice so far. Am afraid hard drive is going. My main concern is that should it go, I want to back up what I have on computer. Being a relative newbie, I am not sure how to do this. I have plenty of floppy discs but not sure how to go about this. AND...should it come down to getting a new hard drive or computer, how do I put all this back into computer. Is there a website I can read up on or can anyone give me suggestions on what to do. I really dont want to lose all info I have on here. Thanks everyone. Have a great day and a safe one.
Old July 4th, 2004, 10:04 PM
CTH Subscriber

O/S: Linux
It will be better to go ahead and get a new drive, then move the files from the old over. Instructions will come with the drive. Just copy the data files you cannot afford to lose to floppy. If the drive is on its last leg, backing the whole drive to floppies could cause a total failure before it is finished.
Old July 6th, 2004, 12:33 AM

Thanks for input renegade. Am going to back up what I need. Went a whole day with no problem. It just acts up when it wants to. Screen goes black and message reads cannot read hard drive. If I reboot all is okay. Makes a clanking sound when it is going to do it tho. Have a great day and thank you.
Old July 7th, 2004, 01:44 PM