Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Topic Tools
Old September 3rd, 2007, 05:36 AM

O/S: Windows XP Home
A build using an old case...?

OK, so I have a Dell OptiPlex GX110 PC Desktop hand-me down. My girlfriend bought a new computer and me being a scavenger I asked her to give it to me. Basically what I would like to do is gut it and build in the existing case. I know that trying to build in a "cookie cutter" case is difficult because it does not allow for much. I was wondering if anyone knows of what MoBo I could buy that would fit in this case? I like a good challenge and I built my own desktop, so Im still kind of new at this. Is it worth my time?? Haha.

Thanks everyone!

-DanO
Old September 3rd, 2007, 05:51 AM

I had a look on some review sites and it says "Small Form Factor" which i'm taking to mean micro-ATX, so theoretically you could slap a micro-atx motherboard in it. That is if we are talking about the same thing, because I saw some that were the type that the case lays flat under the monitor, and some that were normal tower designs.
Old September 3rd, 2007, 05:57 AM

Hmm... I did some looking around too and I I saw it called "small form factor" as well, But I didn't know what kind of MoBo it referred to. I can only assume that the MoBo has to be small because when I opened the case the power sup. swings out from inside which takes up some room. So perhaps you are right about the micro-atx board.
Old September 3rd, 2007, 06:07 AM

O/S: Windows XP Pro
Is it one that sits under the monitor?

If so, Then no. Nothing other than the original dell mobo will fit. Basically they don't have any screw holes (well 2 maybe). And there is that extra add-on for the PCI slots, Which isn't on any of the motherboards out today. Basically because none are designed to be used like that. And the rear I/O ports are in the wrong position also.