Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old November 26th, 2006, 01:39 PM
pilcrismih's Avatar
pilcrismih pilcrismih is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
O/S: Windows 8
Location: Padua, Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 95
HPIZplus450

Dear Sirs,
whenever I try to open the D unit of my computer the window "Please wait while Windows configures HPIZplus450" appears, later appears "The feature you are trying to use is on a CD-rom or other removable disk that is not available". Prsssing Cancel for f4-5 times, that would disappear, and I would still have access to what iI wanted to open. Would it be possible to make the things above not appear anymore?
Thankyou.
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old November 26th, 2006, 01:46 PM
black mirror black mirror is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: In the African bush studying the wildlife
Posts: 8,240
Hello please read this it may help
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 26th, 2006, 02:15 PM
rlprlp rlprlp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 152
I thought that I would mention - because it might help - that I removed the HP Image Zone program from my HP quite some time ago with no ill effects. Don't take this as rock solid, as I'm only going off of memory... I believe that this program is for doing digital camera stuff on your HP PC, and I don't do that kind of stuff. In fact, I don't use any of HP's software. I only use what comes with Windows XP and various other vendors. So, again, quite some time ago, I used what I think is an excellent security program called "WinPatrol" to disable HP updates completely. I hope my story is useful to you. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:43 PM
pilcrismih's Avatar
pilcrismih pilcrismih is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
O/S: Windows 8
Location: Padua, Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 95
Un fortunately, I do not know much about computers. I would need a step-by-step help. Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 27th, 2006, 12:46 AM
rlprlp rlprlp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 152
Actually, I missed this the first time. What do you mean by "D unit"? I assume you must have an HP computer. Do you mean "D drive"? That is the HP recovery drive, for last-resort emergencies only. If you are trying to open it, I think that I should step down and hopefully someone with more experience than me can help you with what you are trying to do. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 27th, 2006, 01:25 AM
Miz's Avatar
Miz Miz is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
O/S: Windows 10 Home
Location: Kansas
Age: 76
Posts: 12,104
It sounds like HP Image Zone was removed improperly or it didn't uninstall itself completely or...well, who knows? Windows thinks it wants to install itself for whatever reason.

The Windows Installer Cleanup Utility might be able to fix the problem.

Click Here to open a page with a link to download the utility. When it asks what you want to do with the file, click Save. Remember where you saved it to.

Once you have the file saved to the hard drive, find it and run it to install the utility. It should put a shortcut on the desktop. If not, look on the Start Menu. Once you find it, click on the shortcut to start the utility.

If HP Image Zone is on the list it displays, click on it to select it, the click the "Remove" button.

All it does is eliminate traces of HP Image Zone that are causing Windows to think it's supposed to be installed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:47 PM.