Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Software > Internet / Browsers

Notices

Internet / Browsers Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Internet and Browser issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 21st, 2004, 03:14 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
internet speed

I ran some tests on pc pitstop and was told my download speed is only 214 when it should be 512.I have tested at different times of the day and night yet still get the same.I looked in my network connections folder and went to the properties of my connection and it says the speed is only 10.Can someone explain what it all means.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 21st, 2004, 03:26 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,475
Hi,
Just as a test give this a try
http://www.degs.co.uk/bandwidthmeter/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 21st, 2004, 03:30 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
I did click the link and it says conducting bandwith test but nothing seems to be happening
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 21st, 2004, 03:47 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,475
Nothing in the status bar to tell you that it is loading?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 21st, 2004, 03:52 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
No, it says
here is an optional header


Conducting bandwith tests.....

It loads,says done and then nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 21st, 2004, 04:15 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,475
Don't know what's wrong. Works for me and is a pretty good measure of bandwidth.

Do you notice speed problems when surfing/downloading?
Have you contacted your ISP?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 21st, 2004, 04:25 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
I do get quite sloww browsing at times and no I haven't spoken to my ISP becuase I have a card router and my two kids connected to my p.c. they refuse to help me with things like this.Would this make a difference by the way?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 21st, 2004, 04:27 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,475
If they are constantly downloading then it would effect your download/surfing speeds.

Have you tried it when you know their PCs are not connected?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old May 21st, 2004, 04:31 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
Yes I tried today and theirs were off.Any other ideas on what I can do to improve it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old May 21st, 2004, 06:32 PM
Steven.Bentley Steven.Bentley is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,840
what's the speed like on their pcs?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old May 21st, 2004, 10:02 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
I only tested one of them last night at a peak time but it was only 100.I haven't been able to do the other one yet.Mine gives the same result with them on or off.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 22nd, 2004, 11:46 PM
Steven.Bentley Steven.Bentley is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,840
can you bypass the router and connect your machine directly to the ISP? It's worth checking that that's not the reason for the poor performance
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 24th, 2004, 06:11 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
I contacted my server againand they told me the u.s sites can sometimes give iffy figures, I am in the u.k. so they ran a test and say it is downloading at 512-602.Not sure really what to do now.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 25th, 2004, 07:42 PM
Steven.Bentley Steven.Bentley is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 3,840
did you try my suggestion of bypass the router to find out whether the router is causing the slowdown?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 26th, 2004, 02:12 PM
daffy duck daffy duck is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: wales u.k.
Age: 53
Posts: 758
Yes and it still comes the same,do you know of any u.k. sites to test bandwidth? I think it could be the p.c.pitstop site cause my brother tried it and his only comes in at 250-300 and he has the same speed as me with nothing connected to his.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Speed prince_xavier Internet / Browsers 2 October 31st, 2008 02:10 PM
Internet SPEED bikkie7 Networking 1 September 23rd, 2008 04:41 AM
Internet speed Kilerz Applications 2 November 24th, 2006 04:10 PM
Internet Speed TheGame_BWS Internet / Browsers 2 March 10th, 2006 05:09 PM
SLOWWwwwwww Internet Speed & I have the need for Speed kuzzz Windows XP 1 August 4th, 2004 09:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:53 AM.