Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old August 26th, 2007, 12:28 AM
jp45678 jp45678 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
TL3 Telephone record lead white lead TL3 telephone line record lead strange problem

Hi, I didn't really know where else to look for answers to this:

I have recently bought a device to record phone conversations for interviews with staff, very simple device, plug one end into a phone line. and the other into the microphone/line in socket on the laptop/desktop.

The first time i set it up and used it, it worked absolutely perfectly, i used nero wave editor to record an input and it worked brilliantly. I have since tried to use it and noticed a loud white noise on the line, so loud, its impossible to hear the person talking.

I noticed the problem was that when the laptop had its power lead plugged in, there was a massive amount of static. I can literally have it working perfectly and plug it in and watch the sound wave become entirely static.

This is fine and i may hear you shout, dont plug it in, how long are your conversations? .... but it is the same on desktops but obviously i can't unplug the power.

Does anybody know of a reason for this/solution for it?

Also, i have tried software other than nero. The windows sound recorder does the same, as does another bit of software, i forget it's name, but they all give exactly the same results.

Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 26th, 2007, 09:38 PM
misterbadnback's Avatar
misterbadnback misterbadnback is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: Western PA.
Posts: 1,484
If you have the Mic boost checked it could be causing the problems so you will have to disable it. It could also be that you have the phone or base to the phone to close to the laptop/PC so you will have to move it further away. You can also try turning the volume down on the Mic. Go to your Control Panel>Sounds and Audio Devices and under the Volume tab "Device Volume" click "Advanced" then click on Options then properties, put a check in recording and in the bottom put a check in phone Line and click ok. You will have a set of controls come up and you should make sure that you have a check in the box beside "select under Phone Line and set the volume to half way. Then close out the controls and everything. You can also try NERO Soundtrax for that just just open soundtrax click on the audio on the top and click Record and when the little Popup comes up just click ok. Then under audio input settings open the drop down box and click on phone line. Then on the right side click record. That should help you out. You can also under the audio input set the slider so that both meters are in the yellow (you don't want them in the red) and if both are in the yellow it makes for a better recording.

Report back if you have any problems or to just say it works better.

Last edited by misterbadnback; August 26th, 2007 at 10:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
one problem lead to another computer only working in safe mode Schneddon Malware Removal 3 September 20th, 2008 10:37 PM
Name of this lead? Xblade Hardware 3 January 1st, 2008 11:18 PM
Audio lead sherlock Hardware 1 October 4th, 2004 09:30 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:00 PM.