Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Windows 7 Problem solving for the Windows 7 Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Windows 7 you are using - Starter, Home Basic, Home Premium, Professional, Enterprise or Ultimate.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 17th, 2013, 03:13 AM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Windows 7 Repair

I have a HP G71-340US Notebook that will not start with Windows and when I try to run "Automatic Repair" it runs for two days at a time....... and just keeps on running.

I tried to launch in safe mode but it ends up at the same place each time.

I have (tried) attached a screen shot of the message. I couldn't load the screen shot; it said contact administrator? Any rate, it's a normal message where it says "windows didn't start correctly, could be because of new software or hardware" none of which has changed lately. However, my son plays lots of games on it, maybe suspect?? Can someone please help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 18th, 2013, 01:05 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
Hello wblack,

Any chance you have, or can borrow, a Windows 7 install DVD?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 18th, 2013, 01:31 AM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Hey Jintan, I do not right off hand. Maybe someone from our IT department can help; I'll check tomorrow. I am sure I can find someone to let me borrow.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 18th, 2013, 01:34 AM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
If at any point you get the option to do a System Restore, then do so.

If the Start Up Repair starts automatically, then immediately try to cancel and you should get the option for Advanced repair>System restore.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 18th, 2013, 01:45 AM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seth_ View Post
If at any point you get the option to do a System Restore, then do so.

If the Start Up Repair starts automatically, then immediately try to cancel and you should get the option for Advanced repair>System restore.
I can get in set up utility; can I do anything from there that may help?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 18th, 2013, 02:00 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
That Startup Repair won't let you cancel out of it, then results only in an option to restart (or maybe Shut Down as well). See if you can borrow the install DVD.

And no, the setup utility won't help.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 18th, 2013, 02:09 AM
wblack wblack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jintan View Post
That Startup Repair won't let you cancel out of it, then results only in an option to restart (or maybe Shut Down as well). See if you can borrow the install DVD.

And no, the setup utility won't help.
Roger that. I'll let you know when I get. Thanks Jintan!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 18th, 2013, 02:19 AM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
I just tried it myself and cancelled the Start Up Repair. Of course I got the message that the start up repair can't be cancelled, but I just hit OK and then get the Advanced Options Screen>System Restore.

Another option is to press Shift and F10 to cancel the start up repair and get you to a command prompt, then run system restore from the command prompt.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 18th, 2013, 02:34 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
How did you get Startup Repair to run?

wblack, from what Seth posted you may want to try that.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old January 18th, 2013, 02:37 AM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
Jintan,

I used my W7 disk and started the start up repair. With that being said, the same should happen with the preloaded repair options.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old January 18th, 2013, 02:51 AM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
...continued from above.

For those that need an .iso for the repair options, you can legally download Vista and W7 iso's from digital river:

http://techfleece.com/2012/09/08/how...-install-disk/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old January 18th, 2013, 04:15 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
So you didn't use Windows built-in Startup Repair. wblack, post back when you have the disk please.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old January 18th, 2013, 04:37 AM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jintan View Post
So you didn't use Windows built-in Startup Repair. wblack, post back when you have the disk please.
I just tried it on my other system using the built in startup repair. It as well gave me advanced options> system restore.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old January 18th, 2013, 04:48 AM
Jintan's Avatar
Jintan Jintan is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52,284
How did you get it to run Startup Repair?

Sorry wblack, just ignore this part of the thread.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old January 18th, 2013, 05:08 AM
Seth_ Seth_ is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Age: 55
Posts: 2,957
F8 at boot>Repair Your Computer>Startup Repair. Once started, I cancel it, then get the message that, "Startup Repair can't be cancelled". Click ok, and the startup repair does indeed cancel and then gives the option for advanced repairs>system restore.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to automatically repair Windows Vista using Startup Repair sankit1144 Windows Vista 2 September 8th, 2017 09:11 PM
Cannot boot windows - Startup repair cannot repair this computer automatically....jxl johnluk Windows 7 1 July 30th, 2016 05:00 PM
Repair Windows XP Panky Windows XP 3 January 19th, 2008 08:07 PM
I Need Help To Repair Windows! dan mills Windows XP 3 November 24th, 2006 12:28 AM
repair windows rup7ure Windows XP 12 February 12th, 2006 04:10 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:30 PM.