Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Windows 7 Problem solving for the Windows 7 Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Windows 7 you are using - Starter, Home Basic, Home Premium, Professional, Enterprise or Ultimate.

Topic Tools
Old October 28th, 2009, 02:10 AM

O/S: Windows XP Home
Windows 7 OEM install

I have a pc running Win7 RC. I built the pc months ago, but did not install a permanent OS. With Win7 now available for sale, I bought the OEM version to save a few bucks from the retail version.

My question is, I'm reading on the windows package about using the OEM Preinstall Kit (OPK).

Since I'm not a professional builder, do I need to install this OPK? I'm really a novice who wanted to see if I could build a machine from scratch, which I did, now I just want to install the OS, finally. I have not broken the seal on the package.

Thanks for any assistance.
Old October 29th, 2009, 02:58 AM

I'm puzzled? I have asked a bad question? I purchased a legit Win7 version from NewEgg.com, just want to know about the OEM kit before I install the OS.
Old October 29th, 2009, 04:46 AM
CTH Subscriber

O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Yes, there is a problem JHL. According to the Microsoft OEM System Builder Agreement, OEM software should only be sold with a fully assembled computer system and it must be preinstalled on the system it is sold with. The exception to the preinstallation rule is server software. See here. I am aware that NewEgg.com does sell this software to people who are not System Builders and it has been brought to Microsoft's attention so as far as I am concerned, the ball is in their court.

Having said that, it is this site's policy not to assist in matters that contravene licensing terms and conditions. I am sure you can understand our position.
Old October 29th, 2009, 05:14 AM

Thanks for the reply