Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Linux Problem solving for all open source distributions of Linux, such as Debian/Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, Suse, Mandriva and other proprietary unixes such as Solaris, SGI Irix. Newbie friendly too!

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 1st, 2005, 09:16 PM
chaos's Avatar
chaos chaos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 204
64bit AMD

I upgraded my computer running slackware 10 to a AMD 64 bit processor from a 32 bit. After installing drivers and fixing little problems it's all working fine, but I have a question, how can I tell if it is running in 64 bit? also a diffrent question while I have this topic how do I/should I upgrade to the latest kernal? I want to be able to make my PC "sleep" like in XP.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 3rd, 2005, 05:02 AM
bAdWaYz bAdWaYz is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
O/S: Linux
Location: A State of Zen
Age: 50
Posts: 4,561
What port of Slack do you run? I wasn't aware they had an offical port for the 64bit platform as of yet. I know they have a mainframe port but thats for intel and you say you run a AMD 64. So if its running I would think it isn't running at 64bit. You might want to take a look HERE thats an unoffical 64bit port of Slack 10.1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP 64Bit? snakey_75 Windows XP 4 May 18th, 2009 07:44 PM
32 or 64bit? dudeking Windows Vista 24 January 8th, 2007 11:42 PM
64bit Darkhorse Windows XP 4 July 9th, 2006 03:31 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:32 AM.