Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 5th, 2005, 01:40 PM
Mik000 Mik000 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Warning! Now System Is In Safe Mode

My computer displays this message when you restart the computer after it has been on standby.
It displays at the start screen (when you first turn on the computer)
the message is:-
Warning! Now System Is In Safe Mode
Please re-setting CPU frequency in the CMOS setup.
it will let you continue by pressing F1 or Del to Enter Setup.

Can anyone help?

Machine Spec:-
Athlon 64 3500
Leadtek Winfast Nforce4 mobo
2x 512mb hynix ram
160gb Hitachi sata HD
Hiper 350W PSU
Leadtek fx6600 Graphics card
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 6th, 2005, 05:58 PM
pip22 pip22 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: England, UK
Age: 74
Posts: 998
Have you been trying to overclock the processor? PC seems to be telling you that the processor clock-frequency is set wrong, and this can only be put right in the BIOS settings.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 6th, 2005, 06:05 PM
Mik000 Mik000 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
Havnt overclocked

No I have not tried to overclock the processor before.

In the bios the bus speed is set at 200mhz which is right for this processor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 6th, 2005, 06:43 PM
Crashster Crashster is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 44
Posts: 5
Do you want your system to go into standby? I usually disable it due to various issues such as these with many motherboards.

You may want to try playing with the frequency to see if you get different results. I'd start off going lower, and then slightly higher if you see no difference. Naturally, you'll want to be very careful increasing the frequency.

Just curious, are you actually in Safe Mode after getting that message?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 6th, 2005, 06:59 PM
Mik000 Mik000 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 6
frequancy is at lowest

By pressing F1 it will boot up windows normally.

I dont know what you actually mean by "safemode"

when I first got the computer (3 months ago) it would sometimes do it when you first turn on the computer. but it doesnt seem to do It like that anymore (only when it has been on standby).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System keeps rebooting .. can not access safe mode .. mxmom Hardware 8 February 2nd, 2009 06:42 AM
Will only load into safe mode, error in all others, can't use system restore sweetiris Malware Removal 15 August 18th, 2007 12:33 AM
Mouse & Keyboard Don't Respond in Normal Mode (But does in Safe Mode)? jontwatkins Windows XP 5 October 4th, 2006 06:49 PM
Safe-mode runs fine, normal mode freezes John117_mc Windows XP 15 March 15th, 2006 11:08 PM
How to make normal mode as the default option instead of safe mode in the bootmenu? jpxtreme Windows 95 2 December 12th, 2005 11:47 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:49 PM.