Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old May 16th, 2009, 06:10 PM
snakey_75 snakey_75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 97
Talking XP 64Bit?

hi, i'm after some info.
i'm running XP Home 32bit, is it worth upgrading to 64bit.
i have Pentium 4 3GHz, 2GB RAM.
no problems with pc itself, i want to make sure it is running at it's full potential. I have Tuneup Utilities 2008 program and in the system optimiser it says that i have a 64bit processor, but i'm only using 32bit. Upgrade to get better performance etc. i've heard that with 64bit, some programs will not run, is this particular programs or various across the board?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 16th, 2009, 06:51 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,434
For XP the code optimized for 64 bits is executed much faster then 32bit.

The benefits are most apparent when you have a large amount of RAM installed on your computer (typically 4 GB of RAM or more). Because a 64-bit operating system can handle large amounts of memory more efficiently than a 32-bit operating system can, a 64-bit system can be more responsive when running several programs at the same time and switching between them frequently. If your motherboard supports more memory than the 2GB you have now.

Most hardware devices have 64bit drivers but not all, you need to verify that all of your hardware has 64 bit drivers.

32bit programs can run in compatibility mode, but if most of your programs don't run in 64 bit then your will see no performance boost.

I run VISTA Ultimate 64bit and have noticed a performance boost over 32bit, but running 4GB memory and multi-task a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 16th, 2009, 07:11 PM
snakey_75 snakey_75 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 97
i do multitask now and again, not very often, 2gb ram is max i can install, (m/b is gigabyte 81865GME-775-RH).

eg. if my pc can run at 100mph, but i'm restricting it to 50mph, i want to unrestrict it! if upgrading to 64bit will improve performance......
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 18th, 2009, 05:31 PM
Joe1's Avatar
Joe1 Joe1 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
O/S: Windows Vista
Location: Southern California, USA
Posts: 16
Switching to 64-bit XP will not be worth it for you if your max amount of RAM is 2GB. A lot of the apps you will be running will be 32-bit or not run at all on XP 64.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 18th, 2009, 07:44 PM
DonBB DonBB is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Lafayette, LA
Age: 44
Posts: 879
Not to mention the fact that you will have to purchase the 64bit version of XP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32 or 64bit? dudeking Windows Vista 24 January 8th, 2007 11:42 PM
64bit Darkhorse Windows XP 4 July 9th, 2006 03:31 PM
64bit AMD chaos Linux 1 October 3rd, 2005 05:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:38 PM.