Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old March 22nd, 2008, 12:32 AM
Kazukagi Kazukagi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Hard Drive Enclosure Issues

Hey, great to be here. Sorry for asking for help on my first post, but I'm in a bit of a jam

So my laptop went out a week or so ago, ironically during my process of backing things up. So, I've got a truckload of data I needed to get off of it. The problem is that I have two hard drives in RAID 0 configuration, and they are both standard 2"5 drives for a laptop.

After talking to a few people, I decided on getting a hard drive enclosure and grabbing my stuff of the first hard drive, then the second. Went to newegg, bought an SATA enclosure for 2"5 drives.

I put my drives in correctly, but I can't get them to work. If I put in Hard drive 1, I get a "Disk is corrupt and cannot be read" error, and on the second, the disk doesn't even pop up on "My Computer"

So I'm now stumped. I'm sure the problem stems from the fact that these drives are in RAID 0 configuration, but other than that, I'm lost.

Hard Drive: 2 SATA 7200 RPM, 100GB, 2"5 drives.

If anybody can help me with this, I would really appreciate it. Once again, sorry for asking so early, and thanks for the time.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 22nd, 2008, 01:35 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Hi, Welcome to CTH.

What is the issue with the laptop?

You will only be able to access the HDD's using the RAID controller they were made under. So they will not work in a PC without RAID, Or one which has RAID but a different controller.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 22nd, 2008, 02:20 AM
Kazukagi Kazukagi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Hey, thanks for the reply.

The problem with the system is a possible burnt out CPU, and a possible faulty power source. I have to deal with it's repair through technical support, and they told me that there was a good chance that (for some reason) they would reformat the hard drive, thus my reason for wanting to back up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 22nd, 2008, 03:05 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Can they not back it up, Or create an image of it after they fix it?

They shouldn't need to reformat the HDD's at all, unless they are corrupted.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 22nd, 2008, 04:03 AM
Kazukagi Kazukagi is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
You're right, but the problem is that the computer is an Alienware, the Worst. Service. Ever. They told me that reformatting is normally "standard", and that they won't make an image for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 22nd, 2008, 05:54 PM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Take the HDD's out when they fix it so they have nothing to reformat?

The only way you can get your data that I can think of is in that laptop, or a different one, same model.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External hard drive enclosure Bob331 Hardware 4 August 24th, 2010 12:49 AM
Problem using hard drive enclosure HerbieDog Hardware 1 January 29th, 2009 07:25 AM
Hard Drive Enclosure Problem Theadam24 Hardware 3 September 13th, 2008 10:06 PM
Hard Drive Failures--Hard Drive Enclosure Failure counselor815 Hardware 2 September 22nd, 2006 10:17 PM
External Hard Drive Enclosure -- need fan? KillerQ Hardware 1 August 6th, 2005 07:40 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:01 PM.