Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 14th, 2008, 01:16 PM
max_vz max_vz is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Mismatch of Memory Info BIOS vs PC-Doctor / System Info

Hi,

I just (Jan 6) got a new ThinkPad T61 15". It was advertised as coming with 4GB RAM (this was in part why I got it in the first place).

However, when I did the System Info check with PC Doctor, it had only 3GB:
"*Total Physical Memory* 3.00 GB"

Also, when I go into System Properties - General tab, it says:
"2.19 Ghz, 3.00GB RAM Physical Address Extension"

I then checked with the supplier, who told me to check in BIOS (F1 upon start). Sure enough, there it said:
"4052 MB physical memory"

I downloaded Everest, as suggested in a different RAM thread, and Everest finds:
"Physical memory total = 3070 MB"
and
"Physical Address Extensions, ...
Supported by OS, CPU, and active"

1) Why are the these numbers all different?
2) Do I have 4GB now or just 3GB?
3) In case I have only 3GB, how to activate the hidden 1GB?

Your input would be much appreciated.
Max
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 14th, 2008, 04:29 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
The answer is that all 32bit operating systems, ie, XP and Vista, will only see up to 3.25gb of 4gb installed RAM. If you want the OS to use all 4gb, you'll have to buy and install a 64bit version of your operating system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 14th, 2008, 05:44 PM
max_vz max_vz is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Many thanks! This is quite useful to know... so, unless I change the OS, I've bought too much RAM : - (. It seems to make no difference if I had 3 o a 4 GB installed, then.

- Max
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 14th, 2008, 05:52 PM
photolady photolady is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10,927
You're welcome. And yes, unless you change the type of OS, you'll have wasted money as far as 32bit OS systems go for more than 3gb of RAM.

And 64bit OS might not be the best idea either because a lot of driver manufacturers don't carry the 64bit driver either.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
info:: thread legend - linux info collection twistedcranium Linux 13 January 31st, 2024 01:09 AM
Software upgrade from info in System Info folder Rm2talk Applications 0 March 13th, 2008 11:32 PM
info:: Quick Linux System Info Using uname twistedcranium Linux 0 August 21st, 2003 01:31 AM
DDR Memory Info? & DVD/CD-RW Info? bozo Windows 98 3 February 16th, 2003 10:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:49 AM.