Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Linux

Notices

Linux Problem solving for all open source distributions of Linux, such as Debian/Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, Suse, Mandriva and other proprietary unixes such as Solaris, SGI Irix. Newbie friendly too!

Topic Tools
Old September 18th, 2004, 04:08 AM

O/S: Linux
Linux problems - I'm new to Linux (and frustrated)

I've installed SuSE 9.1 and a non-winmodem on my PC. So far the sound card and monitor work OK & I think the printer may be working OK too. I went thru the Yast setup for my modem and ISP. SuSE tells me the modem is a MicroCom DeskPorte 56k voice modem (it's actually a Jaton 56k voice modem but the brand name probably doesn't matter). I've figured out how to turn on the screensaver, I've figured out how to import a jpg file and make it my desktop background, and I've played a couple of card games (solitaire). Thats as far as I've gotten.

The internet browser that came with SuSE is called Konqueror. When I click on it (the icon) the main screen comes up but thats it. If I type in a URL I get an error message (UNKNOWN HOST). Of course I get that message because the browser didn't even attempt to dial out to my ISP. So............ how the hell am I suppose to get this damn thing to dial out????? I went into Konqueror help but it doesn't give me a clue. It just says "once the connection is made, blah, blah, blah." It also says something about using KPPP????????? Whatever that is.

Please don't suggest that I install another web browser because I haven't figured out how to install additional programs yet. Besides, I don't have another browser to install.
Old September 18th, 2004, 11:59 AM
Cyber Tech Help Moderator

Welcome to the Free World modmidget.

I not sure what sort of Application Launch menu you get in KDE in SuSe9.1 (I'd have to boot up my Live CD version and I'm feeling a little lazy tonight )