Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Windows 7 Problem solving for the Windows 7 Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Windows 7 you are using - Starter, Home Basic, Home Premium, Professional, Enterprise or Ultimate.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 19th, 2011, 08:43 AM
rivrbyte's Avatar
rivrbyte rivrbyte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Where Micky Mouse lives...
Age: 68
Posts: 92
Question Before OEM WIN7 install, format HDDs now, or during O.S. Install?

Hello,
I WANT TO DO A CLEAN INSTALL of WIN7. I now have WIN XP PRO.


I have an OEM version of Windows7 Pro. I presently have Windows XP Home and want to format two of my three HDDS. Iím changing the boot drive from my 74GB RAPTOR to my 500GB Blue caviar, so after moving everything from my500GB storage to my new 2TB Caviar green HDD, Iím ready to format both the first two drives and install win7.

Can I format these drives first, go in the BIOS change to boot sequence from Raptor Boot Drive to the DVD/Rom to boot the WIN7 from, or should I format while installing Win7?

Is it absolutely necessary to unplug the other two drives, while formatting and installing the WIN7 O.S.? People tell me that there is a chance of the OS installing sometimes on the other drives.

Also, if I want to change the now boot drive Local disk letter (C) to my storage drive (G) and the other two drives letters can I do this in manage disks, anytime?

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 19th, 2011, 06:23 PM
jazz836062's Avatar
jazz836062 jazz836062 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Humble, TX
Posts: 821
I am assuming that all the drives use SATA. With SATA there is no more Master/Slave configuration that we used to have with IDE cables. That is when Windows would install the the master drive when you wouldn't want it to. But I would still recommend unplugging the drives that are just for storage and only using the windows drive for now and make sure that the drive is highest priority in your BIOS (Excluding CD/DVD Drives). It is not necessary to do this but it might eliminate some confusion when you are installing Windows. Formatting through the windows installation is the easiest method and what I would do. You don't gain anything from formatting outside the install. If you do disconnect the drives and want to reconnect them later I would reconnect them after you have installed your chipset drivers to ensure smooth incorporation of the drives.

I apologize if this wasn't clear, if you have any other questions please post them and we will try to clarify.


One last note, these are my opinions. If you simply suck your windows 7 DVD in at this very moment everything should be just fine. Just be careful when picking which drive to install windows to.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 19th, 2011, 08:11 PM
rivrbyte's Avatar
rivrbyte rivrbyte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Where Micky Mouse lives...
Age: 68
Posts: 92
Wink

I love jazz too!

YES,
All three HDD's are SATA


You said,

Quote:
"Make sure that the drive is highest priority in your BIOS (Excluding CD/DVD Drives)"
Are you talking about making the HDD OS Boot Drive, the main first priority?

I thought I was supposed to make the DVD-ROM first boot so it could boot off the Win7CD.

Also, You mentioned Chipset drivers....I used the MSI XP Drivers and utilities CD when I installed this three years ago. The other extra drivers/Utilities CD was for Windows Vista......Do you know if that would be ok, until I went to MSI and downloaded their updated chipset 64 bit drivers?

Do I load the chipset drivers BEFORE, during ,or after the Win7 install...I seem to have a 'temporary lapse of reasoning' at the moment. Thanks

Last edited by rivrbyte; July 19th, 2011 at 08:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 19th, 2011, 10:42 PM
jazz836062's Avatar
jazz836062 jazz836062 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Humble, TX
Posts: 821
You are correct, the CD/DVD drive should be the first thing to boot. But out of the HDD's the OS should be the first one to boot. Sorry for the confusion.

Use windows default drivers that will install when you boot win7 for the first time, but as soon as you can get the updated drivers from MSI. Those would be installed after the OS install is completed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 20th, 2011, 01:06 AM
rivrbyte's Avatar
rivrbyte rivrbyte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Where Micky Mouse lives...
Age: 68
Posts: 92
Ok thanks.
I want to run something else bu you. I was already to plop the win7 install disc in, when in the BIOS, cell settings,I was going to change the RAID (even though I am not using RAID) someone told me I had to change the IDE to AHC1, and change the BOOT sequence to DVD/CD to boot the Win7 disc.

I did that, got out of the bios, then it would not start windows normally,but in safe mode...is this the result of AHC1 change?

So I put it back to IDE, until I noticed a few things i'm not sure if they should be enabled or not.
PCI IDE Busmaster - ENABLED
RAID MODE - IDE (to be changed prior to win7 install)?
ACPI Function- ENABLED
EIST- ENABLED
CMOS - Execute BIT SUPPORT - DISABLED
SET LIMIT CPUID MAX - DISABLED

All I thought I really had to do after installing new memory modules,and the new HDD, was to LOAD OPTIMIZED SETTINGS in the BIOS, and change both the boot sequence to DVD/CD and change the IDE to AHC1.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 20th, 2011, 01:51 AM
jazz836062's Avatar
jazz836062 jazz836062 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Humble, TX
Posts: 821
I would simply Load Optimized Settings and leave it. It will notice that you don't have any IDE HDDs and change the appropriate settings.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 20th, 2011, 08:06 PM
rivrbyte's Avatar
rivrbyte rivrbyte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Where Micky Mouse lives...
Age: 68
Posts: 92
OH Oh...

This win7 is going to be hard to maneuver around..I may just have to virtual XP back into this OS...win7 does not make it easy after using XP all these past years.


Ok BEFORE I installed Windows7, I went into the Bios, changed the boot sequence from my NEW OS Boot Drive (C) to my DVD/CD drive to boot from the Win7 CD, installed the OS, went back into the Bios to see if windows automatically change the IDE to AHC1, but it did not.I left that IDE.(someone i read here said that if I did not change the IDE to AHC1 before installing windows, then I would have a tough time opening windows)

Could this be why it won't boot from the OS Sata drive, becuz the AHC1 is on the IDE mode?


Then I changed the boot sequence back to BOOT FROM C Drive where my OS is, but then when i saved settings in the Bios, restarted windows, all i got is a dark screen with a blinking cursor in the top left hand corner,,,,,it would not start. So in order for me to start windows, I have the boot sequence to boot from the DVD/CD Rom drive????? That does not sound normal.

I also loded up my realtek HD audio driver,but when I clicked on the speaker icon in the tray, all I get is Microsoft S/PDIF Digital sound,with no MSI EQ, or realtek sound properties, and it's set to 2-channel, 16 bit,441000 KHz. Does anyone know if that makes a difference whether it's S/PDIF, or realtek HD audio?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No response from Win7 install DVD Traveler Hardware 4 April 2nd, 2011 12:49 AM
Win7 sp1 x64 won't install Gus Windows 7 5 March 18th, 2011 03:59 AM
New win7 install cpu spikes slowing comp down Mike Photo Windows 7 5 January 26th, 2011 09:46 AM
Win7 Install Help CyberHunter Windows 7 1 December 16th, 2009 10:43 AM
format,install os jay hobart Windows 98 10 January 19th, 2005 01:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:02 AM.