Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 14th, 2007, 01:31 AM
Sovetcki Sovetcki is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Booting Error

Hello,

For some reason, everytime I boot my computer, I get an error behind a black screen. If I press close, then the screen goes black and I have to boot it manually. The desktop will only show if I exit it using the X. And even then, the desktop opens up only 50% of the time. I am using Windows Vista Home Premium. The error details are as follows.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: Explorer.EXE
Application Version: 6.0.6000.16386
Application Timestamp: 4549b091
Fault Module Name: StackHash_8d13
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 00000000
Exception Offset: 01f30000
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Data: 00000008
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 8d13
Additional Information 2: cdca9b1d21d12b77d84f02df48e34311
Additional Information 3: 8d13
Additional Information 4: cdca9b1d21d12b77d84f02df48e34311

Read our privacy statement:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...3&clcid=0x0409

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 14th, 2007, 05:38 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi Sovetcki. Do you still have a problem if you boot into Safe Mode (restart your computer and tap F8 continuously as it restarts)?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 14th, 2007, 03:04 PM
Sovetcki Sovetcki is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
In safe mode, the problem is nonexistent.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 14th, 2007, 08:26 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Ok, that indicates that one of your startups may be causing the problem. Try clean boot troubleshooting to see if you can isolate the problem. See here for more information.

Let us know how you get on.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 14th, 2007, 09:48 PM
Sovetcki Sovetcki is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
None of the startups or services seem to be causing the error.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 14th, 2007, 10:04 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Did you cleanboot using the method described in the link and still get the error?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 14th, 2007, 11:15 PM
Sovetcki Sovetcki is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
Correct. I did.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 15th, 2007, 05:14 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hmm, it might be hardware related. Try disconnecting all peripherals with the exception of your keyboard, mouse and monitor. Boot now. Do you still have a problem?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 15th, 2007, 09:00 AM
sheldondsouza's Avatar
sheldondsouza sheldondsouza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Sharjah, UAE
Age: 38
Posts: 426
Reinstall IE7 and then check
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 16th, 2007, 12:48 AM
Sovetcki Sovetcki is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
No, I recently reconnected everything. It's not a hardware problem. I guess i'm going to have to run a system restore.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 16th, 2007, 02:20 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 24th, 2007, 05:23 PM
sheldondsouza's Avatar
sheldondsouza sheldondsouza is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Location: Sharjah, UAE
Age: 38
Posts: 426
Have you tried reinstalling ie7 as the error relateds to it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old October 24th, 2007, 09:35 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
I appreciate that you are trying to help sheldondsouza however you cannot reinstall IE7 in Vista. It's integrated with the OS. Additionally, the WinXP/2K version that is available for download from the Microsoft site is not the same as the Vista version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the Com A error when booting PC OldBit2K15 Windows 95 5 May 7th, 2015 07:40 PM
error during booting up johnfoster Windows XP 0 May 9th, 2011 02:47 AM
Error during booting junlee Malware Removal 22 January 31st, 2008 12:22 AM
Booting up error stk37626 Windows XP 4 November 7th, 2007 02:38 PM
Error While Booting Computer, LowLikeWhoaF150 Windows 98 6 August 29th, 2001 09:26 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:39 AM.