Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows NT, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2012

Notices

Windows NT, 2000, 2003, 2008, 2012 Problem solving for the NT, Windows 2000, 2003, 2008 and 2012 Operating Systems

Topic Tools
Old March 11th, 2008, 04:53 PM

Unhappy 2nd IDE drive not recognized post upgrade, now says drive is unformatted? Data lost?

Hoping someone can help and I haven't lost all my data. I am a novice PC user with limited knowledge. My mouse and keyboard are PS2. I have a Desktop Dell Dimension XPS T500 series with a Pentium III, 640 Ram & 2 Hard Drives. The original 13GB IDE drive & a 2 year old 80GB IDE drive purchased from Dell. I recently upgraded to Win 2000 Pro from Win 98 SE and my second 80GB Hard Drive was not recognized post upgrade. (When I was previously using Win 98 SE and the drive was recognized.) The 2nd drive shows up in my BIOS as a removable drive and is the slave drive. To make matters worse I'm not sure what else I changed or did but now my 2nd drive is now getting an error saying it is unformatted. Did I lose all of my data on the drive? Is there any way of retrieving or restoring it? I have not saved or written anything to the disk post upgrade.

I was using it to store family pictures & photos and would be devastated to lose my kids pics & movies. I know this is a bit late & I need an external back-up. I was looking into one but I am a novice user and unsure how to integrate into my system.

Please help. Thanks!
Old March 11th, 2008, 05:28 PM

O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
I'm not very familiar with Win 2000, but it will use the NTFS file system; Win98 used FAT32. Possibly it's just that Win2000 can't read FAT32 drives.