Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #16  
Old September 10th, 2015, 01:15 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
froze twice again this morning could not unfreeze it and had to shut it down and reboot. I am wondering can a mouse do this. A friend says I need a new one. Mine is old.

also what about memory and freeing up space can that make it freeze?

Thanks!

Last edited by perplexed; September 10th, 2015 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old September 10th, 2015, 08:07 PM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
Please explain what you exactly mean with freeze. Can you move the mouse when the system is freezing?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old September 10th, 2015, 08:55 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
no I cannot move mouse and most times I cannot use ctrl alt delete to escape the freeze.
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old September 11th, 2015, 06:01 AM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
OK then it would best to check the hard drive first.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/deta...ldiskinfo.html
Please download Chrystaldiskinfo and run it. Please post the output here.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old September 11th, 2015, 03:43 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
thanks so much, my mouse quit working altogether and I had to get a new one. Worked great all morning and just froze again. Do I proceed with download? Thanks!
Thanks so much!

Last edited by perplexed; September 11th, 2015 at 06:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old September 12th, 2015, 02:21 PM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
Yes, please run the tool to check the harddrive.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old September 12th, 2015, 05:17 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
thanks, once I click your link do I click the download button or the scan button?
thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old September 13th, 2015, 06:17 PM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
What exactly do you see? The link goes to majorgeeks download page, where you can download the tool Chrystaldiskinfo.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old September 13th, 2015, 08:16 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
is it the green download button?

Author: Reimage
Date: 25-06-2015
Size: 1.2 MB
Requires: Windows XP / Vista / Windows 7 / Windows 8


I see a couple more up top. Kinda confusing and thanks !
I clicked one of the 2 up top of page Chrystaldiskinfo6_5_2.zip and when I clicked to run it I got this not found graph.html

the other one said not compatible with your version of windows. thanks for your help!

Last edited by perplexed; September 13th, 2015 at 08:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old September 14th, 2015, 05:31 AM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
No, it isn't. These are ads. Do you use any kind of adblocker in your browser? Would be good to install an adblocker, otherwise you will have this problem and download crap oftentimes.

Please try this link:
http://osdn.jp/frs/redir.php?m=jaist...kInfo6_5_2.zip
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old September 14th, 2015, 01:56 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
no how do I get a safe ad blocker please.

I got the same messages as below with your link, I clicked both info files for lack of a better word.


I clicked one of the 2 up top of page Chrystaldiskinfo6_5_2.zip and when I clicked to run it I got this not found graph.html

the other one said not compatible with your version of windows. thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old September 14th, 2015, 03:32 PM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
Which browser do you use? Then I can tell you which addon you need.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old September 14th, 2015, 04:11 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
I use firefox and thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old September 15th, 2015, 07:10 PM
schrauber's Avatar
schrauber schrauber is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 5,017
Please navigate in Firefox to Extras > Addons and type

Adblock

into the search field. Please install the addon "Adblock Edge".
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old September 15th, 2015, 10:42 PM
perplexed perplexed is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 2,397
okay what about the freezing, could it be my memory in my computer. It just freezes and I can't get my mouse to move and I have to shutdown.

found Adblock edge it says this addon has been discontinued. I clicked more to read about it.


Thanks!

Last edited by perplexed; September 15th, 2015 at 10:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox stop responding computer freezing Moved from malware by schrauber Soaddyrara Malware Removal 1 September 20th, 2017 05:53 PM
network issues - moved from malware by schrauber blue_70517 Networking 43 October 23rd, 2015 03:16 AM
Need Help with Laptop Not Responding and Freezing - moved by Jintan JohnNgSF Malware Removal 23 November 18th, 2012 12:27 AM
psf: my computer is doing a very similar thing - moved by schrauber psf Malware Removal 1 January 19th, 2010 11:30 PM
to stop spyware and malware popups: Moved from WinNT by Murray padmee Malware Removal 9 December 6th, 2007 12:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:37 PM.