Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old November 2nd, 2009, 06:09 AM
antonibede antonibede is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Windows vista to windows 7 upgrade solve vista problems

I am purchasing the vista home premium or ultimate this week, i am getting the oem version from newegg with the win 7 coupon. My question is will it solve vista memory usage issues, the windows 7 rc that i have is fast and runs efficiently, however in ancient times when i used the upgrade option from 98se to xp, it was kinda crappy had 98se problems and xp problems. I put the service packs on my cousins computer , and vista is still a bit of a resource hog, anyone in the know?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 2nd, 2009, 01:14 PM
peterm69 peterm69 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: bolton, england
Age: 61
Posts: 635
ive went from windows vista ultimate to windows 7 ultimate and it looks like it uses the same amount of memory, ram at 44%
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 4th, 2009, 05:37 AM
Dodge's Avatar
Dodge Dodge is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Kentucky
Age: 47
Posts: 6,421
Just so you know, It is always better to do a full Fresh install of windows instead of Upgrading. The upgrade can and usually does cause some form of problems. I highly recomend doing a fresh install.

As for memory problems. So far I dont know of any in Windows7. It is much easier and actually makes alot better use of memory. Even though most like the poster above says that it uses the same, it does a much better job of Using and utilizing memory compared to Vista. You should really see a big difference.

I can't speak to the nature of doing Upgrades though as I won't do that personally. Its never as good as a fresh install.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from Vista Ultimate 32 bit to Windows 7 64 bit airjazz Windows 7 1 June 10th, 2010 06:13 PM
'SymSetSymWithAddr64' error when trying to upgrade to Windows from Vista Hornzog Windows Vista 1 December 31st, 2009 09:37 AM
Can I Upgrade My Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit OS? manooly Windows Vista 9 September 22nd, 2009 10:23 PM
How can I delete Windows vista Home edition, upgrade from windows xo smb1280 Windows Vista 1 February 23rd, 2008 01:35 AM
Upgrade To Windows Vista Mad_horse Windows XP 5 December 5th, 2007 01:19 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:44 AM.