Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows 98

Notices

Windows 98 Problem solving for the Windows 98 Operating System

Topic Tools
Old August 18th, 2003, 03:23 PM

Windows Tweaks by Mishy??

Hi, I read this article on CyberTech by Mishy that suggests how to tweak a few things, however I cant find tha commands suggested.
I tried using the 'run' function or by searching with 'regedit'.
I also tried these in a Dos command window as well?

This is my first attempt so pardon my ignorance at something that is probably fairly simple

Here is the article:
MSDOS.SYS tweaks

LoadTop=0 Loads command.com at the top of your conventional memory

BootMulti=0 Stops windows from being able to look to see if you're multibooting. Can shave a second or 2 from your boot time.

Logo=0 Turns the Windows logo off at boot - can save a second off boot time.

BootDelay=0 The 0 is the amount of seconds windows waits before booting. 0 obviously cuts it down. (only needed in Win95)

BootGUI=1 Loads Windows 9.x automatically.

System.ini tweaks

Under the [386Enh] section....

LocalLoadHigh=1 Allows the maximum conventional (low) DOS memory (RAM) in a DOS session/box

MinSPs=4 Can prevent stack fault errors by increasing the number of stacks. (Win9.x only)
Old August 18th, 2003, 08:10 PM

O/S: Windows XP Home
msdos.sys is a hidden and read only file so in order to edit you will have to change it attibutes. In explorer go to view,folder options, view and check show all files. Next in your root directory find msdos.sys and right click on it. Choose properties and uncheck hidden and read only.
Go back to the root directory and open msdos.sys and make the disired changes. save it and rest the attributes to hidden and read only. Next go to view, folder options and check do not show hidden or system files.
If your not familiar with this proceedure or msdos.sys it might be better to leave it alone.