Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Hardware Use this board for problem solving and the discussion of Computer Hardware issues

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old February 19th, 2008, 10:52 PM
Name:'s Avatar
Name: Name: is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Royersford, PA, USA
Age: 31
Posts: 124
Faster dialup modem

I know that this would not be possible between a computer and an ISP simply due to limitations in the quality of phone lines, but would it be possible to overclock, or speed up a dialup modem in any way to get a faster connection (60kbps) using a direct connection between two dialup modems.

I have already setup a direct connection between the modems using a 9-volt battery and a normal phone line cord, but just to see if it's possible, I wanted to try to speed up both modems to connect at higher rates.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 19th, 2008, 11:39 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
dont think so
they are rated at 56k, that means the drivers are made to run the modem at that speed

hmm im wondering how did you roll a 9v battery into that
if you are going through an extension cable from 1 computer to another next to it, then the best way to connect them is using ethernet (which isnt expensive these days, especially fast ethernet)

Last edited by cHiNgY1788; February 19th, 2008 at 11:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 20th, 2008, 10:07 PM
Name:'s Avatar
Name: Name: is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Royersford, PA, USA
Age: 31
Posts: 124
I already have an ethernet network setup in my room, so I am not doing this to actually transfer files this way. I am now just trying to speed up the transmition rates between two modems for fun. Just for the sake of seeing if it's possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 20th, 2008, 11:57 PM
cHiNgY1788's Avatar
cHiNgY1788 cHiNgY1788 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Aussieland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,268
well i haven't touched modems in a while, but i think if you go to the modem's properties page you can increase the baud rate or something
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 21st, 2008, 03:24 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
Yeah somewere in the modems settings you casn bump it up to 128kbps.. Or may have been 112..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 28th, 2008, 10:08 PM
Name:'s Avatar
Name: Name: is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Royersford, PA, USA
Age: 31
Posts: 124
true, but the hardware of the modem limits the speed to a maximum upload of 48kbps, and download of 56kbps. I am trying to find a way to make the hardware allow a high rate connection. I doubt changing the registry will work, though I will give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:50 AM
Name:'s Avatar
Name: Name: is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Royersford, PA, USA
Age: 31
Posts: 124
I have been reading a little about modems, and it seems it's not possible to increast the modem speed through the registry unfortunatly. I am still curious if it's possible to increase the speed by overclocking the modem itself. It would require some programming knowledge, but I think it might be possible.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old March 16th, 2008, 04:08 AM
l337_GuY's Avatar
l337_GuY l337_GuY is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: New Zealand
Age: 16
Posts: 7,436
When your overclock FSB it usually effects PCI buses and most expansion slots. Not sure if that would directly effect modem speed, but it would increase speed between modem and PCI bus.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old March 17th, 2008, 09:59 PM
Name:'s Avatar
Name: Name: is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Royersford, PA, USA
Age: 31
Posts: 124
Nah, doesn't work. Oh well, guess it's not possible. Thanks anyways.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faster startup of Windows XP/Shutdown XP Faster ritual Windows XP 2 November 18th, 2007 07:25 AM
dialup modem problems coreyk67 Windows XP 1 October 3rd, 2006 05:27 PM
Dialup internal Modem hangs up bloodroot Hardware 0 August 16th, 2006 11:38 PM
Dialup Modem Settings Not Remembered roncur Windows XP 15 August 31st, 2005 10:19 AM
Dialup Modem Speed kmaki Hardware 3 July 20th, 2003 03:40 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:14 AM.