Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old April 18th, 2007, 09:24 AM
Dark Acalyte Dark Acalyte is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
Trouble installing windows vista

i bought the Vista Home Premium upgrade 32-bit from Alienware and i was trying to install it, it goes all the way through the install process to where it gets to the step after "installing new features" (this step is something like "completing upgrade"). But as soon as it gets to 55% on that part, the screen goes black then it takes me to the blue screen, this is what appears when it goes to the blue screen:

A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

ati2dvag.dll

TERMINAL_SERVER_DRIVER_MADE_INCORRECT_MEMORY_REFER ENCE

If this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen,
restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow these steps:

Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed,
If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer for any windows updates you might need.

If problems continues, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
If you need to use Save Mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then select Safe Mode.

Technical information:

*** STOP: 0x000000CF (0xA223FF48, 0x00000008, 0xA223FF48, 0x00000000)

*** ati2dvag.dll - Address A223FF48 base at A2220000, DateStamp 00000000

Collecting data for crash dump ...
Initializing disk for crash dump ...
Beginning dump of physical memory
Dumping physical memory to disk: 40



I've tried installing Vista twice and the same thing has happened both times
im not sure what to do, here are my computer specs :

CPU: DualCore Intel Core 2 Duo E6700, 2666 MHz (10 x 267)
Motherboard: Intel Bad Axe D975XBX
Graphics Card:PCI Express x16: ATI Radeon X1950pro (RV570)
Sound Card: SigmaTel STAC9221D A2 @ Intel 82801GB ICH7 - High Definition Controller [A-1] PCI
RAM: 3326 Megabytes Installed Memory

Slot 'J6H1' has 1024 MB (serial number 0x00000000)
Slot 'J6H2' has 1024 MB (serial number 0x00000000)
Slot 'J6J1' has 1024 MB (serial number 0x00000000)
Slot 'J6J2' has 1024 MB (serial number 0x00000000)

Hard Drives: 500.11 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
374.14 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

CD/DVD Drives: PV3241O BBL913S SCSI CdRom Device [CD-ROM drive]
TSSTcorp CD/DVDW SH-S162L [CD-ROM drive]

OS: Windows Media Center SP2



any help would be appreciated

Last edited by Dark Acalyte; April 19th, 2007 at 06:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 18th, 2007, 10:37 AM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,475
I'm not sure what your error is but did you run the compatability tool before trying to upgrade?

It may be that your setup is not compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 18th, 2007, 10:45 AM
Dark Acalyte Dark Acalyte is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
yeah i ran the compatibility tool and it said that my setup would run Vista Home Premium 32-bit fine.

so i dont know what to do, and i dont feel like trying the clean boot

edit:

on the alienware website i found this

If your system is configured with a RAID-0 (striping) array, your upgrade to Windows Vista will not complete successfully. Instead, you will be automatically rolled back to Windows XP. This is because the nVidia RAID controller driver installed in Windows XP is incompatible with Windows Vista.

Upgrades to Vista with single hard drives, dual independent hard drives, or RAID-1 (mirroring) configurations should complete successfully

Alienware is working diligently with its partners to resolve this issue. You will be notified as soon as a resolution is available.

If your system is configured with RAID-0, Alienware strongly recommends postponing your Windows Vista Upgrade until a resolution is made available. Doing so may result in data loss.


i looked up the information on my computer and unfortunately i have a RAID - 0, what i dont know is that is RAID just a driver and can a download a different one somewhere else so i can get Vista to run?

Last edited by Dark Acalyte; April 18th, 2007 at 10:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 18th, 2007, 01:34 PM
degsy's Avatar
degsy degsy is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North-East, UK
Posts: 22,475
Raid 0 makes 2 or more hard drives look and behave as one.

You need the correct driver for the raid controller and windows, so unless nVidia have one available then you cannot upgrade with that setup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble installing windows 7 Plz help SaBeR420 Hardware 3 November 27th, 2009 03:56 AM
Trouble installing Vista with new comp. plz help!!? (moved from Vista) Mozez101 Hardware 1 February 9th, 2009 05:21 AM
Trouble installing Windows kev_58 Windows 98 4 January 23rd, 2006 09:44 AM
Trouble Re-Installing Windows Me GoldSawdust Windows ME 1 February 21st, 2005 05:01 PM
Trouble re-installing Windows 98 on laptop smitheejr Windows 98 3 November 1st, 2004 01:01 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 AM.