Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Networking

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old August 10th, 2010, 03:49 AM
essenceofire essenceofire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
No authentication (open) and signal strength

We just received a wireless 2wire gateway from at&t and it is hooked up and everything works perfectly. I noticed when I went to properties on my laptop that it says that our router has no authentication (open) selected.
However, it has WEP encryption and a security key. We had to enter this security key when we connected our laptops for the first time.

I just want to make sure that it is secure and our neighbors cannot access it. If it isn't secure, anyone have any advice on what we should change it to? (And, do I need to change it on all laptops or just this one).

Also, I noticed that my bedroom only has 4 bars of service. I cranked up the power level on the gateway's setup page from 4 to 10, but still no change. Is that the only way to increase it with this gateway for free? Will I still get the same speed from 4 bars as I would 5 bars?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old August 10th, 2010, 08:51 PM
ecross ecross is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 447
Hello essenceofire,

The encryption type depends on what your network hardware can support. If you can use WPA or even better WPA2 I would definitely use it.

For more details, please see:
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u..._03july28.mspx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 10th, 2010, 08:52 PM
essenceofire essenceofire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
So even though you need to enter a password to connect to my router it is still unsecured?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 10th, 2010, 09:18 PM
ecross ecross is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 447
An encryption key is required whether its open or shared but WPA offers better security. For more information, please refer to:

http://www.2wire.com/pages/pdfs/5100...-000.Rev.A.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 10th, 2010, 11:03 PM
essenceofire essenceofire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
Okay I changed it to WPA2-PSK and entered the password. It works now, is that a good security then?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 11th, 2010, 09:58 PM
z1p's Avatar
z1p z1p is offline
Cyber Tech Help Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
O/S: Windows Vista 64-bit
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 6,668
esssenceoffire, that is fine for security, just don't pass the key of to everyone and you should be fine. ;^)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:45 PM.