Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows XP

Notices

Windows XP Problem solving for the Windows XP Operating System

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 07:33 AM
Soudager's Avatar
Soudager Soudager is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows XP Home
Posts: 405
A: not working

Hi,
I am glad that there is such a wonderful website that helps people by going out of the way. Hats off to all of you.
This time around I have a couple more issues. The first being the fact that my PC's performance is slowed down considerably, and this has started sometime ago after a few days of when I had bought the internet (BroadBand) connection. I have tried to do a few things, such as installing the anti spyware software, but when I tried running it, it wanted me to buy it, so kindly tell me if there is any such software available on the internet for free, with the help of running which, I can enhance my computer's speed.

The second issue is, my A drive is not working, and everytime I insert a floppy, it says THE DISK IN DRIVE A IS NOT FORMATTED, DO YOU WANT TO FORMAT IT NOW? I have tried to insert various types of floppies, new and old.
But the command remains the same, kindly help me overcome this difficulty, and also possibly tell me, what could have gone wrong because of which this problem has occured,
Thank you so much for the support,
Regards,
Soudager
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 09:22 AM
jaishankar jaishankar is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: Over there... near those rocks
Posts: 2
First change the Cable connecting FDD to Mother Board. In many cases a faulty cable causes a lot of problems.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 10:12 AM
G_Dem G_Dem is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Location: London
Age: 41
Posts: 3,219
Try ad-aware. the SE version is free and I find it to be very good.

Are you putting in blank disks or disks with data on them?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 3rd, 2006, 12:15 PM
dudeking's Avatar
dudeking dudeking is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
O/S: MacOS
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 2,853
If you have the floppy drive setup wrong in the bios this error can occur. e.g. If in the bios you have the FDD setup to '3MB 1.44' for example in stead of '2mb 1.44'. For the performance try Spybot S&D, a simply defrag of the PC and increase performance or any registry cleaner (I use registry mechanic).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet explorer not working, firefox working slowly archerthr Malware Removal 5 August 25th, 2010 06:25 AM
Computer suddenly stopped working....removing memory stick got it working again BlackNGoldRules Hardware 1 April 17th, 2010 04:28 AM
Firefox, Thunderbird and IE Stop Working Azureus Keeps Working derrettlee Malware Removal 8 November 7th, 2006 11:42 PM
I am over here working on this E-Machine and its not working. black momba Windows 98 2 June 3rd, 2004 11:42 PM
I am over here working on this E-Machine and its not working. Jonette Windows 98 55 May 8th, 2004 08:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 AM.