Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Hardware > Hardware

Notices

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old December 30th, 2010, 01:00 AM
hotroc hotroc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
monitor problem

hi so i just got a new benq 2420hdB monitor and i all ready had a samsung syncmaster 2343BW i want to stretch my desktop any ideas? i also bot a spliter but it only mirror images the desktop. i was told from one source that i could get another video card and run one monitor from the original card and one from another
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old December 30th, 2010, 02:04 AM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
Hardware specs please. That way we know what hardware we're dealing with and can give better advice. The majority of video cards made over the last few years are dual head (they can run 2 monitors independently).

The splitter can't do anything but send 1 signal to two monitors, so it will always be in clone mode.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 30th, 2010, 02:10 AM
hotroc hotroc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
i have windows 7 home premium the video card i have is a GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 30th, 2010, 02:19 AM
hotroc hotroc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
the desktop it self is brand new to me hear is the exact specks link:


http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/produ...bf334541c7en02
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 30th, 2010, 02:34 AM
Lawrencely's Avatar
Lawrencely Lawrencely is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
O/S: Windows 7 32-bit
Posts: 26
All of this information is well and good Ernie, but I've looked over all your blog entries visible without going to archives and it seems every one is either 100% about thecomputer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 30th, 2010, 02:59 AM
hotroc hotroc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
All of this information is well and good Ernie, but I've looked over all your blog entries visible without going to archives and it seems every one is either 100% about thecomputer.


<<<<<---------------- what does this have to do with my question?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old December 30th, 2010, 05:43 AM
MaDef's Avatar
MaDef MaDef is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 3,838
without getting technical, that board has one video output (according to HP support),so it can't drive 2 monitors. Your best bet is to buy an after market video card, and install it. just make sure it's a low profile card (the mainboard is a micro or uatx). and that it doesn't need more than a 250w psu to run it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old December 30th, 2010, 06:33 PM
hotroc hotroc is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
ok thank you i will try that today !
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old December 30th, 2010, 10:21 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows 11
Location: Newport News VA
Age: 77
Posts: 17,351
To add; the specs show
Integrated NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE, which is on-board built in to the motherboard video.

It also shows the following:

Available PCI slots (1)
Available PCI-e slots 1 PCI-E 16 (Occupied); 2 PCI-E X1 (2 available)

So I don't know what is occupying the PCI-E 16 slot.???

Pulling up the specs of the motherboard (M2N68-LA) I see the two PCI slots and one PCI-e slot. The PCI-E slot is right next to the sound/speaker connectors. Is there anything connected there?

If its not available then you will need a PCI Video Card (NOT PCI-E), that has two monitor connectons.

Normally they will come with 1-VGA and 1-DVI connector. Check your monitor to see what type of connectors it has.

The Benq has both a VGA and a DVI...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:25 PM.