Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 13th, 2008, 10:55 AM
campo campo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Sussex, UK.
Age: 79
Posts: 385
Impressed with Vista

I have recently gone over to Vista Home Premium SP1 (32 bit) which I run on a new Dell with a 500HD and 3G of memory. I find it absolutely brilliant in every way, mainly perhaps because I opted for the bigger memory version.

Only little disappointment?

Well, perhaps two, really:

1. My Canon MP Pixma 150 works fine with Vista purely as a printer but the scanner does not work (this was after I had been assured that this model was fully Vista-compatible).

2. My desktop still tends to lose my favicons just as with XP running both IE6 and IE7.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 14th, 2008, 05:15 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Did you install this driver:

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...&modelid=12764
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 14th, 2008, 08:16 AM
campo campo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Sussex, UK.
Age: 79
Posts: 385
thanks Murf.
At first I thought that link which you supplied was a complete sucess; I mean my machine now certainly scans again, but BIG PROBLEM:

Whatever I scan refuses to be saved. Wherever I attempt to save it, I get this message:

'Unable to save file. The system cannot find the path specified.'

Obviously I have tried saving all over the place but still get this message!

Any further suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 14th, 2008, 10:22 AM
campo campo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Sussex, UK.
Age: 79
Posts: 385
Okay, I think I have solved this now. I just have to send any scanned picture/document straight to an editing facility (such as ArcSoft) and then save it from there. That works fine.

Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 15th, 2008, 02:37 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Your Welcome I guess, if that works OK.. Would think you could save scanned files wherever you want. In the scanner/printer configuration there must be a place where you designate where to save...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 15th, 2008, 07:14 AM
campo campo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: Sussex, UK.
Age: 79
Posts: 385
Yes, there was such a place. I repeatedly tried to save in various places such as 'Pictures' but then I was told that the designated path could not be found. Very odd!! However, when I chose to send scanned picture to an editing facility, I can save from there.
Seems a little odd but I am really glad that I can now use my Canon Pixma 150 with Vista.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm thoroughly impressed... Gunslinger Open Discussion 7 June 8th, 2007 07:10 AM
impressed with Vista DVD renegade600 Windows Vista 0 April 29th, 2007 08:47 AM
Not Impressed!! midnightvelvet Windows XP 6 October 12th, 2006 02:12 AM
Impressed...and grateful!! peachyglint1 Comments & Suggestions 4 March 19th, 2003 08:49 PM
Wow I'm impressed! Buzz Open Discussion 3 September 23rd, 2000 09:13 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:10 PM.