Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 7th, 2008, 10:28 PM
DagGz DagGz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 376
comp wont boot after sp1 install

i was trying to get my father-in-laws computer up to date which is running vista basic. i downloaded 2 updates from the ms update tool. one of which was sp1. i rebooted it and it went thorough some update screen updating 66 thousand + files. it then rebooted itseld and now when it turns on it gives me the option to boot using startup repair or start normally. when i press enter to use startup repair it goes blank for a second and then goes back to the same screen again. no disks are inserted at this point. is all my data now lost? how can i sort this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 7th, 2008, 10:46 PM
Cigar smoker Cigar smoker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 335
You didn't say if you tried the start windows normally option. Same outcome?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 7th, 2008, 10:49 PM
DagGz DagGz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 376
it restarts
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 7th, 2008, 10:52 PM
Cigar smoker Cigar smoker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 335
Try getting into safe mode and use the last known good configuration. Here's what it looks like-
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/chsafe.htm#03
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:01 PM
DagGz DagGz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 376
it reboots as it does when i select to start windows normally.

i have a menu with

repair your computer

safe mode "selecting this reboots to recovery screen option"
safe mode with networking "selecting this reboots to recovery screen option"
safe mode with command prompt "selecting this reboots to recovery screen option"

enable boot logging
enable low-resolution video (640x480)
last known good configuration (advanced) "selecting this reboots to recovery screen option"
debugging mode
disable automatic restart on system failure
disable driver signature enforcement

start windows normally


i hope i aint messed it up. this hdd has so many family pics and vids on it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:10 PM
Cigar smoker Cigar smoker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 335
If you have the Vista DVD you can try a repair. Sounds like what Vista wants you to do since it's keeps taking you to the recovery screen option.
Take a look at this-
http://moniroth.wordpress.com/2008/0...tartup-repair/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:11 PM
DagGz DagGz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 376
i think it was all pre-installed. dont think a cd came with it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:18 PM
Cigar smoker Cigar smoker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 335
Do you have access to a Vista dvd that is the same version of Vista as is on your father-in-laws computer? You can use that as well for a repair only.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:53 PM
DagGz DagGz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 376
will it delete the files on the computer or will it keep all the pics and stuff on there?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:58 PM
Cigar smoker Cigar smoker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 335
The repair using the Vista dvd will keep all personal files intact. Don't confuse this with a recovery cd that may have come with the computer from the manufacture.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old July 7th, 2008, 11:59 PM
DagGz DagGz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 376
cool. thanks for your help. super fast responses dude. i will try giving it a whirl 2moro.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old July 8th, 2008, 11:06 PM
DagGz DagGz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows XP Home
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 376
right, the only disk that i can find is a "windows upgrade anytime" disk ive a feelin this isnt the one i need. any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old July 9th, 2008, 12:53 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi DagGz. Boot into Safe Mode with Command Prompt and try running System Restore. See here for more help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hmm window xp wont install on custom comp killer03 Windows XP 3 March 10th, 2007 03:17 PM
comp wont boot up kodislady Hardware 0 October 10th, 2005 03:56 AM
Comp wont boot when hot.... almunro Hardware 1 October 5th, 2004 08:06 AM
Comp wont read the CD drive during DOS install... superdudemx Windows XP 1 September 21st, 2004 08:42 AM
Win 98 comp wont boot MDodson2123 Windows 98 2 September 9th, 2004 06:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:37 AM.