Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old July 24th, 2007, 09:09 PM
zg56789 zg56789 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Windows Vista Ultimate Problems

To whom ever it may concern,

My system:
3 ghz HT single core intel processor
asus p5n32 sli deluxe board
2 gig ocz ddr2 5400 (667)
256 mb ati radeon x800xl
120 gig seagate hard drive (sata, 7200 rpm)
460 watt enermax psu
Sony dvd burner

When i built this computer, i originally loaded windows xp pro for the os. everything was fine, no lag perfectley seemless. A couple days ago, i upgraded my system to vista ultimate and everything went hay wire. It takes an extremely long time to install programs and sometimes when my computer is just idling (i.e im just listening to music...nothing processor intensive) my monitoring software tells me that my cpu usage is around the 95%-100% range and it stays there for long periods of time. Also, when my computer is idling, it lags when i try to scroll through menus and stuff like that. Another problem that i have noticed is that when i try to use web conferencing with my friends over windows live messenger using a webcam, my cpu usage goes up to 100% and stays there until i have finished the call. if i try to listen to music, do anything else or have any other programs running, my computer freezes up and i need to restart. None of this happened when i was running xp pro and before someone says that maybe my computer does not meet the requirements for vista, my computer far surpasses the requirments because they are: 1 ghz cpu, 1 gig of ram and 128 mb graphics card. i trump every category. If anyone knows what i should do, please respond to this. any help would be greatly appreciated.

sincerely,
zg56789
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 24th, 2007, 10:21 PM
Porthos's Avatar
Porthos Porthos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: San Antonio,Texas
Age: 57
Posts: 320
Was this a CLEAN install or an UPGRADE install?

Quote:
None of this happened when i was running xp pro and before someone says that maybe my computer does not meet the requirements for vista
Did not even cross my mind.

Our systems are similar and my vista runs fine, I will admit I have tweaked things a bit. I can also confirm since I dual boot XP and Vista there is a preformance hit between the two but not like you describe.

I love my Vista install and only boot into XP to run a few programs that don't work with Vista.

Last edited by Porthos; July 24th, 2007 at 10:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 24th, 2007, 10:30 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,684
what programs are you running in the background? If you installed anything thats not vista compatible, it could mess with your cpu usage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 24th, 2007, 11:15 PM
zg56789 zg56789 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
reply

Porthos: It was a clean install. I formatted my hard drive completely before installing vista. I used the formatting options that the vista setup disc gave me.

renegade600: Everything on my computer is 100% vista comaptible. I had to spend a lot of time running around to different sites downloading the updated drivers for my hardware and software. As for programs: AIM, windows live messenger, office 2007, skype, itunes/quicktime, flash, shockwave, logitech quick cam orbit mp, and thats basically it...im trying to keep this computer as clean as i can.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 25th, 2007, 12:40 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,434
Are these the Video Drivers your using?
http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/v...n-vista32.html

Also what version of Direct X??? Vista should use
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

Have you checked Control Panal>Performance Information and Tools??
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 25th, 2007, 02:14 AM
zg56789 zg56789 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
reply

Murf: i am using all the latest drivers for my graphics card. I am using direct x 9.0 c. i cant use direct x 10 because i do not have a graphics card that will support it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 26th, 2007, 01:37 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,434
Appears either you had a corrupt install, or something is running in the background eating your resources. Obviously, your system far exceeds the Vista requirements. I would be interested in what the Performance scores are, as I suggested earlier. This may tell you where the problem is.

Also in control panel Problem Reports and Solutions may give you a indication.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from Vista Ultimate 32 bit to Windows 7 64 bit airjazz Windows 7 1 June 10th, 2010 06:13 PM
Issues installing Windows 7 and Vista Ultimate x86 firestorm117 Windows 7 1 October 17th, 2009 05:27 PM
Mic doesnt work using windows vista ultimate BlahHx2 Windows Vista 1 May 22nd, 2008 04:01 PM
VISTA Ultimate x64 install problems slumslum Windows Vista 1 February 21st, 2008 03:14 AM
Vista(64) Ultimate Logon Problems - *challenging* hex Windows Vista 0 September 4th, 2007 12:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:48 AM.