Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Windows 7 Problem solving for the Windows 7 Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Windows 7 you are using - Starter, Home Basic, Home Premium, Professional, Enterprise or Ultimate.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old October 14th, 2009, 03:46 AM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Minimize closes window

Clicking on Minimize closes window, no longer shows up in taskbar??????
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 14th, 2009, 04:59 AM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Hi Murf. Did you check in Task Manager to see if the process is still running? Did this behaviour start immediately after the clean install?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 14th, 2009, 04:16 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
FIXED. Don't know how, went in a reset everything to default, rebooted and that fixed it. It happened after using for 3-4 days after a clean install. I was playing around with the Aero Peek settings, Display settings which may of caused it...

Also went in and recalculated Windows Experience Index. I know if this is not computed it can turn off Aero Glass feature.

Don't know what fixed it...but its working
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 14th, 2009, 08:22 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Ah, just one of those crazy things.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 17th, 2009, 05:46 PM
Spider's Avatar
Spider Spider is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
O/S: Windows 11
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 12,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murf View Post
Also went in and recalculated Windows Experience Index
Processor: 5.1
Memroy (RAM): 5.4
Graphics: 4.3
Gaming graphics: 3.9
Primary hard disk: 5.9

My video card isn't a "gamers joy" type so I get a 3.9 determined by the lowest subscore.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 18th, 2009, 06:12 PM
Murf's Avatar
Murf Murf is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows XP Pro
Posts: 17,430
Processor 4.7
Memory 5.3
Graphics 4.9
Gaming Graphics 6.2
Hard Disk 5.4

Overall 4.7

I'm running 2 ea nVidia geforce 9500gt 1GB cards one connected to each monitor,under Vista it was 4.2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 19th, 2009, 07:32 PM
dohray's Avatar
dohray dohray is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Age: 60
Posts: 1,469
My Overall score is 6.4 with the lowest subscore being the graphics card. I did save for a long time to build this machine.

A quick screenshot can be viewed here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 19th, 2009, 11:14 PM
AnnMarie's Avatar
AnnMarie AnnMarie is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
O/S: Windows Vista 32-bit
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 59,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spider View Post
Processor: 5.1
Memroy (RAM): 5.4
Graphics: 4.3
Gaming graphics: 3.9
Primary hard disk: 5.9

My video card isn't a "gamers joy" type so I get a 3.9 determined by the lowest subscore.
3.6 for me. Heck I'm just delighted if my machine boots.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 26th, 2009, 06:01 AM
dohray's Avatar
dohray dohray is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Age: 60
Posts: 1,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnMarie View Post
...Heck I'm just delighted if my machine boots.
Nice one! After installing the retail version, my score increased to 7.2

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 26th, 2009, 05:46 PM
home4tea's Avatar
home4tea home4tea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: UK
Posts: 96
What make/model/size etc. HD is that then?
I could get 6.8 if the HD wasn't returning 5.9
Or even 7.1 if I upgrade the graphics card too.

How did you get 7.4 on the HD ?!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old October 27th, 2009, 11:14 AM
dohray's Avatar
dohray dohray is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: Cardiff, Wales
Age: 60
Posts: 1,469
Hi Keith,

My machine has an Intel X25-M 80GB Solid State Drive. One of the best upgrades to make to your PC.

EDIT: Hardware in my profile.

Last edited by dohray; October 27th, 2009 at 11:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old October 27th, 2009, 07:10 PM
home4tea's Avatar
home4tea home4tea is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
O/S: Windows 7 64-bit
Location: UK
Posts: 96
Time for me to start saving-up then. Thanks for the info. Much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I minimize a window that's full? Pennie77 Windows XP 2 February 24th, 2009 03:12 AM
Original Internet Explorer 7 window closes aryius82 Internet / Browsers 2 May 6th, 2008 01:31 AM
IE7 sometimes closes window when clicking back button yeto Internet / Browsers 0 March 4th, 2008 12:01 PM
Help! Internet window closes @ certain websites ahale Windows XP 0 April 30th, 2007 08:04 PM
making a window minimize and hide to system tray when it opens itsdecks Windows XP 0 July 25th, 2006 03:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:41 AM.