Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Windows 7

Notices

Windows 7 Problem solving for the Windows 7 Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Windows 7 you are using - Starter, Home Basic, Home Premium, Professional, Enterprise or Ultimate.

Topic Tools
Old June 17th, 2013, 12:26 AM

WiFi Change Channel Shadowing

Hi. Newbie here.

Need to know whether I need to be worried. I run Windows 7 Pro 64bit and secure WiFi. My secure WiFi router gives me the option to change channel in the neighborhood network with less or no other network activity.

For almost three+ weeks, I've been monitoring the channels (1 thru 13) and I've noticed that everyone else on the network are on a static setting -- maintaining one or a default channel for their router. However, there is one that keeps on shadowing my channel change(s) about 95% of the time. This is telling me that this one seems to be spying on my surfing. This one does not show up on my network map but he/she can shadow my channel change(s).

Is this possible and how is he/she doing this? If yes, how do I stop it?
Old June 18th, 2013, 02:31 PM

Quote:
Is this possible and how is he/she doing this? If yes, how do I stop it?
Sure it is possible. How? Same way you are "spying" on your neighbors. But are you spying on their "surfing"? No. And they are not spying on yours either (assuming you have not given them your passphrase).

Wireless networks use radio frequency (RF) radiation. You cannot hide RF signals. Seeing them is not spying.

How do you stop it? You don't. You can't. You can, however, set yours to static and see if they stick to the same channel too. And I would make your SSID name something that does not identify you.
Old June 19th, 2013, 01:28 AM