Go Back   Cyber Tech Help Support Forums > Operating Systems > Older Windows Versions > Windows Vista

Notices

Windows Vista Problem solving for the Windows Vista Operating System. Please remember to state which edition of Vista you are using - Home Basic, Home Premium, Business, Ultimate etc. and whether you are using the 32-bit or 64-bit version if you know.

Reply
 
Topic Tools
  #1  
Old September 19th, 2009, 12:04 PM
jonboy123 jonboy123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 295
Question Mouse/Cursor not smooth unless I reboot - Vista Home Premium

I have searched for anyone else with this problem but can't see anything. My cursor is very "steppy" for want of a better description. It is not smooth and requires more concentration than it should to click on things on the descktop. If I re-boot the system it seems to resolve the problem but only temporarily. Could this be a virus or malware related problem or just a setting that needs changing. Can anyone help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 19th, 2009, 08:12 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,675
how much ram do you have in addition, how big and much free space is on your harddrive your os is on.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 20th, 2009, 10:18 AM
jonboy123 jonboy123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 295
I have 4GB of Ram and the hard drive is 120GB. The system will only recognise 3GB I'm told. The hard drive is nowhere near full.
Regards
jon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 20th, 2009, 08:45 PM
renegade600's Avatar
renegade600 renegade600 is offline
CTH Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
O/S: Linux
Location: Osceola, Ar
Posts: 26,675
did you try the mouse on another computer or tried another mouse? What type of mouse? usb, wireless, ps2. Is it a ball type? If so, did you clean the ball and the small wheels inside If you use a mouse pad, has it been cleaned lately? Is it oem mouse or one you purchased? If purchased, did you install the software that came with it? Did you try reinstalling the driver? You can also go to the control panel and check your mouse settings.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 20th, 2009, 11:01 PM
jonboy123 jonboy123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
O/S: Windows 10 Pro
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 295
It is a USB wireless laser mouse (microsoft). I've tried it on 2 other pc's and it seems to work ok with them. Checked settings also in control panel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Topic Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Topic Topic Starter Forum Replies Last Post
c.exe (vista home premium)...HELP PLEASE maham Malware Removal 20 January 11th, 2010 07:12 PM
Vista Home Premium Ginge880 Windows Vista 1 July 18th, 2009 01:32 PM
Vista Home Premium merlinwiz Windows Vista 2 May 13th, 2008 03:21 PM
Difference between Vista home premium Vista ultimate markp1973 Windows Vista 2 December 14th, 2007 04:18 AM
Vista Home Premium larry ziegler Windows Vista 1 February 19th, 2007 11:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:34 PM.